Skip to main content Skip to footer

Athletics News


Fifty-One Spartans Earn Inaugural Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award

July 15, 2009

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Big Ten Conference released the list of student-athletes who received the inaugural Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award today. The conference recognized 498 student-athletes for earning a grade point average (GPA) of 3.7 or higher for the 2008-09 academic year, included in the list were 51 Michigan State student-athletes, the fourth highest total among the Big Ten schools.

The new Distinguished Scholar Award, which acts as a supplement to the Academic All-Big Ten program, honors letterwinners in at least their second academic year at the institution, who reach the 3.7 GPA plateau for the academic year, excluding summer school.

In all, 69 Big Ten student-athletes accomplished a perfect 4.0 GPA, including six Spartans - Football's Aaron Bates, Women's Swimming & Diving's Jordan Jackson, Women's Golf's Maddi Massa, Men's Swimming & Diving's Brian Rockwell, Gymnastics' Katlyn Roggensack and Rowing's Amanda Ruhno.

Anthony Agrusa, Men's Track & Field, Jr., Human Biology
Aaron Bates, Football, So., Pre-Law
Stephanie Bochenek, Women's Rowing, So., Accounting
Kate Bonnen, Women's Tennis, So., Computer Science
Megan Brown, Women's Soccer, Jr., Human Biology
Demi Bruck, Women's Soccer, Jr., Psychology
Kyle Corcoran, Baseball, Jr., Accounting
Ashley Crandall, Women's Soccer, Jr., Hospitality Business
Adam Decker, Football, Jr., Finance
Nancy Diehl, Women's Rowing, Sr., Applied Engineering Sciences
Rebecca Ebner, Women's Swimming & Diving, Jr., Professional Writing
Brandon Eckerle, Baseball, So., Pre-Law
Marianne Eelens, Women's Tennis, Sr., Health Studies
Jordan Ensrud, Men's Golf, Sr., Finance
Marlys Fuqua, Women's Swimming & Diving, Sr., Marketing
Lauren Gamble, Women's Rowing, Jr., Biochemistry
David Garry, Men's Swimming & Diving, Jr., Supply Chain Management
Jennifer Hamilton , Women's Cross Country, Jr., Studio Art
Nicole Heikkila, Women's Gymnastics, So., Lyman Briggs College
Jordan Jackson, Women's Swimming & Diving, So., Human Biology
Megan Kursik, Women's Rowing, Jr., Political Theory & Constitutional Democracy
Emily Langenberg, Women's Cross Country, So., Undecided
Emily Lopatofsky, Women's Gymnastics, Jr., Advertising
Lindsey Lonergan , Women's Tennis, So., Communications
Angela Lucik, Field Hockey, So., Human Biology
Julie Mackay, Field Hockey, So., Dietetics
Meghan Magee, Field Hockey, So., Marketing
Maddi Massa, Women's Golf, So., Nutrition Science
Kelly Moffitt, Women's Gymnastics, Jr., Supply Chain Management
Kelsey Morley, Women's Gymnastics, So., Marketing
Aimee Neff, Women's Golf, So., Communications
Jack Newman, Men's Golf, Jr., Human Resources & Society
Mandy Piechowski, Women's Basketball, Jr., Journalism
Michael Quick, Men's Track & Field, So., Supply Chain Management
Jenilee Rathje, Women's Volleyball, So., Marketing
Geraldine Raynor, Field Hockey, Sr., Hospitality Business
Clark Richardson, Men's Tennis, So., Pre-Law
Floor Rijpma, Field Hockey, Jr., Hospitality Business
Gwen Riley, Field Hockey, Sr., Hospitality Business
Brian Rockwell, Men's Swimming & Diving, So., Mechanical Engineering
Mark Rogers, Men's Swimming & Diving, Sr., Computer Engineering
Katlyn Roggensack, Women's Gymnastics, Sr., Psychology
Amanda Ruhno, Women's Rowing, Sr., Mechanical Engineering
Sarah Schmidt, Women's Rowing, Sr., Special Education
Joseph Schmitt, Men's Swimming & Diving, Jr., Media Technology
Kristi Timar, Women's Soccer, Sr., Criminal Justice
Lawrence Ward, Men's Swimming & Diving, So., Physiology
Ashley Wenneman, Women's Rowing, Sr., Biological Sciences
Blair White, Football, Jr., Human Biology
Victoria Woodard, Women's Rowing, Jr., Mathematics
Thereseann Zimmerman, Women's Cross Country, Jr., Kinesiology

For a complete list of the winners of the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award, click here.

Partners & Sponsors