Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Women’s Swimming & Diving Swim Personal And Season-Bests On Day Three

Feb. 16, 2018

Live Results
Live Video

– The Michigan State women’s swimming and diving team completed day three of Big Ten Championships today with multiple personal and season-best swims.
“It was a tough break, we jumped the 200 free relay, so that was a tough one for us,” head coach Matt Gianiodis said. “We had some great swims in the breaststroke and then Morgan Wellenzohn ended up placing in the diving. Just a tough break in that relay, but we’ll pick it up tomorrow. We’ll come back strong tomorrow morning.”
In the 100 breast, Ellie Roche swam a personal-best time of 1:00.87, making her second in school history, and Erin Szara swam a personal-best time of 1:02.09, making her fourth in school history in the event. Ana Sortland placed second in the C Final, while Abbey Neveling swam a season-best time in the event.
Freshman Marie Dickson swam a personal-best time of 4:28.15 in the 400 IM, a time that qualifies as an MSU all-time top ten in the event.
Rebecca Hannon and Dominique Meldrum swam season-best times of 56.45 and 59.16, respectively, in the 100 fly.
Courtney Aycock swam a season-best time of 1:49.92 in the 200 free, one hundredth of a second short of her personal-best and second in school history. Rosalie Yockey, Taylor Contino and Allie Heineman also swam season-bests in the 200 free.
Olivia Chick swam a 1:50.16 in the 200 free. The time was a personal-best and marked her fourth in school history in the event. Haley Kornburger also swam a personal-best time of 1:50.89 in the 200 free.
Cathryn Armstrong and Kennedy Truex swam season-best times in the 100 back.
In the 3-meter dive, Morgan Wellenzohn scored a 278.10, placing 21st. Amanda Ling scored a 266.70 and Erin Neely scored a 245.95.
The final day of Big Ten Championships picks back up with prelims in the morning, starting at 11 a.m., beginning with the 200 backstroke. Diving will continue at 1 p.m. and then the finals will commence at 6 p.m.



Partners & Sponsors