Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

MSU Divers Set for Zone C Championships

March 8, 2017

Live Results

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Four members of the Michigan State women's swimming and diving team will travel to Bloomington, Ind. to represent MSU at the NCAA Zone C Diving Championships from Thursday, March 9, to Saturday March. 11. Competition begins at 1 p.m. on Thursday at the Counsilman-Billingsley Aquatic Center.

The Spartans will be led by senior Madeline Sewell who has tabbed the top scores in both the one and three-meter dive this season. Sewell garnered her season-high top-score and picked up a first-place finish with a score 299.55 in the one-meter dive at a home meet against Ohio State earlier this season, Jan. 20.

The group of MSU sophomores, Julia Oppedisano, Morgan Wellenzohn and Heidi Surdyk will also compete this weekend at the Championships all picking up their season-best scores in the one-meter dive at the Oakland meet on Jan. 21. Oppedisano has the second-best one meter dive score of 283.65, while Wellenzohn and Surdyk have both picked up season top-scores of 282.98 and 267.60, respectively.

Wellenzohn has the highest score for the Spartans in the three-meter dive. She had her best three-meter dives at the Cincinnati meet on Nov. 14 with a personal top-score of 307.75. Oppedisano picked up a score of 282.30 against Bowling Green, Nov. 11, while Surdyk's top-score came more recently against Ohio State, Jan. 20 where she recorded a score of 260.10.

The Zone C NCAA qualifying break down for the women will be 12 in the one-meter, seven in the three-meter and 10 on the platform. The Women's NCAA Championships will be held March 15-18 at the IU Natatorium in Indianapolis, Indiana. Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis and Indiana Sports Corp will serve as co-hosts.



NCAA Zone C Schedule
Thursday -- Women's 1-meter/Men's 3-meter -- 1:00 p.m. ET
Friday -- Women's 3-meter/Men's 1-meter -- 1:00 p.m. ET
Saturday -- Women's and Men's Platform -- 11:00 a.m. ET

Top-18 in the opening round/prelims advance to the finals. Scores will carry over.

Zone C NCAAs Qualifying Breakdown for 2017
Women's Auto Qualifiers

1-meter: 8
3-meter: 9
Platform: 6

Schools Expected to Have at Least One Diver at Zone C
Ball State University -
Bowling Green State University
Eastern Michigan University
Indiana University - Purdue University at Indianapolis
Indiana University
Miami University
Michigan State University
Northwestern University
Oakland University
Ohio State University
Ohio University
Purdue University
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
University of Akron
University of Cincinnati
University of Evansville
University of Illinois at Chicago
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
University of Michigan
University of Notre Dame
Wright State University
Youngstown State University

Partners & Sponsors