MSU Spartans
Rotating image
Swimming & Diving
MSU Swimming Announces 2007-08 Awards
Junior Heather Kiluk was named MSU's Women's Swimmer of the Year at the team's postseason banquet. Senior Adam Schmitt was the Men's Swimmer of the Year.
Junior Heather Kiluk was named MSU's Women's Swimmer of the Year at the team's postseason banquet. Senior Adam Schmitt was the Men's Swimmer of the Year.

April 14, 2008

Awards List in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Senior Adam Schmitt and junior Heather Kiluk were named the men's and women's swimmers of the year, respectively, at the Michigan State swimming & diving awards banquet Sunday, April 13. Sophomore Ivan Zalessov and junior Danielle Williams were honored as the team's divers of the year. In all, 10 Spartan swimmers and four divers were recognized.

"We had a lot of standouts this season, so a lot of the awards had a lot of strong candidates," head coach Matt Gianiodis said. "Each student-athlete is well-deserved and it is nice to be able to recognize our kids for their hard work this season."

Schmitt's stellar senior season was highlighted by his Michigan State pool record in the 200 free (1:38.34) against Oakland on Jan. 25. That record dated back to 1995. The Grand Haven, Mich., native held the team's top times in the 50 free (20.51), 100 free (44.59), 200 free (1:37.54) and 200 IM (1:52.15). He was named Big Ten Swimmer of the Week on Jan. 29 for his effort against Oakland.

Kiluk set two individual school records and swam on MSU's record 800 free relay team. The Libertyville, Ill., native posted school records in the 200 IM (2:04.20) and 400 IM (4:20.95). She also owned MSU's top effort in the 200 free (1:51.08). Kiluk was also second on the team in three other events.

"Heather was our leader this year and she was a part of three school records," head coach Matt Gianiodis said. "Adam was a fantastic leader for the men's team all season long."

Zalessov and Williams were the team's top divers. Zalessov and Williams each advanced to the final round of the Zones Reginoal Championships, and each diver was named Big Ten Diver of the Week once this season. Williams also recently qualified for the Canadian Olympic Trials this summer.

kevin Puskaric and Stephanie Fisher were selected as the freshmen of the year. Puskaric placed sixth in the 200 breast (1:59.21) and was among the top breaststroke swimmers at the prestigious and highly competitive Toyota Grand Prix. Fisher was the women's team's fastest backstroke swimmer, posting all-time top 10 times in the 100 back (56.03) and 200 back (2:02.95).

Captains Matt McNichols and Alycia Mokedanz were awarded the team's Jack Seibold and Jennifer Parks Awards for Leadership, respectively. Sophomores David Garry and Erinn Wertz were honored as the team's most improved student-athletes, and Marlys Fuqua and Marcus Poteete were selected as the women's and men's Spartans of the Year, respectively. Senior captain Jason Vadney was the recipient of the Kevin Zielinski Heart Award and sophomore Matt Massman won the John Munley Memorial Scholarship.

2007-08 Spartan Swimming Awards
Jack Seibold Award for Leadership -- Matt McNichols

Jennifer Parks Award for Leadership -- Alycia Mokedanz

Men's John Narcy Most Improved -- David Garry

Women's John Narcy Most Improved -- Erinn Wertz

Women's Spartan of the Year Award -- Marlys Fuqua

Men's Jason Vadney Spartan of the Year Award -- Marcus Poteete

Women's Swimmer of the Year -- Heather Kiluk

Men's Swimmer of the Year -- Adam Schmitt

Women's Diver of the Year -- Danielle Williams

Men's Diver of the Year -- Ivan Zalessov

Women's Freshman-of-the-Year -- Stephanie Fisher

Men's Freshman-of-the-Year -- Kevin Puskaric

Kevin Zielinski Heart Award -- Jason Vadney

John Munley Memorial Scholarship -- Matthew Massman




at the official
Online Store