Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartan Swimming and Diving Celebrates Awards Banquet

Senior Lauren Baisden was honored with the Jennifer Parks Award for Leadership by head coach Matt Gianiodis.

April 23, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The Michigan State swimming and diving program held its annual award banquet on Sunday, April 21. Members of the team were recognized for their accomplishments throughout the season.

Senior Jacob Jarzen was presented with the Jack Seibold Award for Leadership. Named after former All-American at Michigan State College, Jack and the Seibold family founded the Golden Spike and they have been instrumental in guiding the swimming program for more than 70 years.

Also recognized for outstanding leadership was senior Lauren Baisden. She is the newest recipient of the Jennifer Parks Award for Leadership. Parks was a pioneer swim coach at Michigan State from 1974-88 and has been a longtime advocate of MSU, women’s athletics and swimming in general.

Sophomore Kyle Workman and freshman Emily Parsons were the male and female honorees of the John Narcy Most Improved Award. Named on behalf of former MSU diving coach, Narcy led the diving program at Michigan State from 1965-2002 and coached numerous Olympians, All-Americans and Big Ten Champions and took great pride in seeing every individual improve through their career as a Spartan.

The Spartan of the Year award was also presented at the banquet. It goes to a male and a female who exemplifies the values of the Michigan State Swimming and Diving program. The female recipient of the Morgan Piasecki Spartan of the Year Award was junior Summer Strickler, while the men’s Jason Vadney Spartan of the Year Award was sophomore David Zoltowski.



The program also awards the Swimmer and Diver of the Year. The male and female swimmer and diver who has the best season based on dual meet points, scoring at the Big Ten Championships, qualifying for, competing and scoring at the NCAA meet. Senior Jenny Rusch was the Women’s Swimmer of the Year, while Jarzen was named the Men’s Swimmer of the Year. Sophomore Alison Menzies was named the Women’s Diver of the Year and the Men’s Diver of the Year award went to freshman walk-on Charles Mauer.

For outstanding accomplishments their freshman season, Jacob Moore and Elizabeth Brown were recognized as the male and female recipients of the Freshman of the Year award.

Also presented as the banquet was the Heart Award named for Kevin Zielinski who swam from 1988-93. He was the USA Swimming Rookie of the Year in 1990. He passed away from a heart defect and this award honors that heart. The 2013 Kevin Zielinski Heart Award went to senior Alexandra Pierce.

Lastly, the John Munley Memorial Scholarship Award was presented to junior Brian Williams. Munley swam for MSU from 1997-2001. He was Most Valuable Swimmer for all four years, served as team co-captain, qualified for Olympic Trials, and finished his senior season with the varsity record in the 200-yard freestyle. He was known for his dedication and hard work in the pool, setting high training standards for himself and his teammates, and for his Spartan spirit.

Partners & Sponsors