Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Swimming and Diving Updates from the Desk of Matt Gianiodis

April 26, 2007

I want to begin this week by announcing some exciting news. For the first time in a long while, the Spartans will not kick the Homecoming football game at noon. In fact, the football game is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. That will afford us a greater opportunity to showcase our alumni swim meet since we won't have to rush through it early in the morning. The meet time is now at 12 p.m., and we will be able to take our time, and who knows maybe even run some races and dives outside.

Last Friday, the coaching staff, as well as Danny Schemmel, Tony Grace and Michael Van Beek helped out with the Special Olympics swim meet at Holt High School.

On Saturday, our team once again helped out with the Adopt-A-River program. Our assigned area was the section of the Red Cedar River, behind Kirchner Park. Our team worked a solid two hours from 8-10 a.m., and they cleared more than 25, 10 gallon bags of trash. Of course, the number one cleaner was Coach Mull, who also managed to make spare change collecting beer and pop cans along the way. He has a real knack for that.

On Sunday, we celebrated our season with our annual banquet. For the second year in a row, we held the banquet in the LaSalle Bank Club at Spartan Stadium. Thanks to Kathleen's organization, the presentation was very nice. Season award winners were:

Jack Seibold Award for Leadership: Matt McNichols
Jennifer Parks Award for Leadership: Amber Schroeder
Men's John Narcy Most Improved: Marcus Poteete, Joe Schmitt
Women's John Narcy Most Improved: Laura DeFord
Women's Spartan of the Year Award: Marlys Fuqua
Men's Spartan of the Year Award: Daniel Schemmel
Women's Swimmer of the Year: Sasha Lewerenz
Men's Swimmer of the Year: Adam Schmitt
Women's Diver of the Year: Katie Edwards
Men's Diver of the Year: Ivan Zalessov
Freshman of the Year: David Garry
Kevin Zielinski Heart Award: Amy Schmidt
John Munley Memorial Scholarship : Michael Van Beek

We welcomed 11 new members into the order of the golden spike. We also said an official good bye to Coach Mull, although I have a sneaking suspicion that he'll be around next year.

I want to thank both Tom Munley and Jack Seibold for attending the banquet. Their presence connects present to past so well.

By the way, I did get the update from J.P. about how the Spartans did this past weekend at the Master's State meet. Congrats to Alec Mull, Dr. Steve Bargwell, Marilyn Early, Kurt Kristenson, Don Korten and Joe Buys.

We have only a few days left in the semester and then exams. This time of the year, we always have to say good bye--sometimes for a long time--to our departing graduates. One graduate who I am particularly proud of is Johan Sunryd. "Jojo" has earned a full scholarship to the University of Massachusetts to study biochemistry. He is getting his undergraduate degree next Friday, and he is on his way to doing great things.

Next week, I promise a summary of our recruiting as well as our schedule for 2007-08.

Until next time,
Matt G.



Partners & Sponsors