Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Buchholtz, Franklin, Lewis earn All-Big Ten Honors

February 28, 2012

The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the 2012 All-Big Ten women’s indoor track and field teams and individual award winners.

Receiving First Team honors for Michigan State was Becca Buchholtz (East Troy, Wis./East Troy), who claimed the Big Ten title in the high jump at the Big Ten Indoor Championships this past weekend.  Buchholtz is a four-time Big Ten Conference champion and topped her own school record in the high jump this season, passing the six-foot mark (1.83m).   She was named Big Ten Co-Field Athlete of the Week on January 23, 2012 and in 2011, Buchholtz was a NCAA East Preliminary Round Qualifier in outdoor track.  Buchholtz is also an honoree for the 2012 Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. 

All-Big Ten Second Team honors went to freshmen Tori Franklin (Westmont, Ill./Downers Grove South) and Brittany Lewis (Lambton Shores, Ont./St. Clair Secondary).

Franklin earned a silver medal in the triple jump at the 2012 Big Ten Indoor Championships as a freshman.   She is Michigan State's indoor school record holder in the event at 13.05m (42-9 ¾).  Franklin was also a two-time Big Ten Field Athlete of the Week in 2012.

Lewis broke the school record in the women's 600 meter run at the Big Ten Indoor Championships, earning a silver medal with a time of 1:28.78.  Ontario native also owns the school-record in the 500 meters (1:12.85), a feat she accomplished at the Notre Dame Invitational on January 21st.



Partners & Sponsors