Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Kevin Jackson Receives Dr. James Feurig Achievement & Service Award

June 5, 2013


(Presented to a male or female graduating senior involved in athletics as a competitor or in a supporting role. The recipient should carry a minimum grade-point average of 3.0 or better, and in addition to athletic and academic success, demonstrate involvement in school/campus and community activities.)

WINNER: Kevin Jackson (Track and Field)

Twice named an Academic All-Big Ten selection and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar, senior Kevin Jackson excelled not only on the field, but made a significant impact in the classroom and the community.

Graduating from Martin Luther King High School, the Detroit native recorded a career-best mark of 2.13m/6-11¾ in the high jump event and holds the highest jump on the team this season of 2.05m/6-8¾. As a three-year Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) representative, Jackson has shown an outstanding commitment to the overall mission of Student-Athlete Support Services at Michigan State.

A two-time NCAA East preliminary-round qualifier in the high jump, Jackson was the recipient of the 2013 MSU Multicultural Award, presented to the student-athlete who promotes inclusion as well as exhibits strong leadership in the areas of community service and diversity programming.

Jackson also served as the MSU representative to the Big Ten SAAC and was a 2011 NCAA Leadership Forum participant. He involves himself in a variety of outreach activities while also serving as a leader and role model to other student-athletes. As a public administration and public policy major, the three-time letterwinner graduated in May and is planning to attend law school in the fall.

"Kevin speaks to the fact that we are not just students, we are not just athletes, but we are well-rounded and he exemplifies that," said Director of Track & Field/Cross Country Walt Drenth. "He's been an outstanding leader and he's a tremendous person. You come across people like that and you know that this is just the start of his leadership. He's going to be a community leader wherever he ends up. He has the attributes, he has the personal skills, he has the intellect, he has every trait necessary to be an outstanding leader. It's a well-earned and well-deserved honor."



2012-Jenilee Rathje (volleyball); 2011-Jenilee Rathje (volleyball); 2010-Ross Weaver (football); 2009-Katlyn Roggensack (gymnastics); 2008-Matthew McNichols (swimming & diving); 2007-John Masters (football); 2006-Taren James (track and field); 2005-Erin Carlson (soccer); 2004-Joe Tate (football); 2003-Brad Fast (hockey); 2002-Adam Hall (hockey); 2001-Deb White (field hockey); 2000-Jennifer Hanink (soccer); 1999-Melissa Pryor (field hockey); 1998-Dave Mudge (football); 1997-Stephanie Dueringer (cross country/track & field); 1996-Susan Gibson (soccer); 1995-Angela Howard (gymnastics); 1994-Mill Coleman (football); 1993-Molly West (tennis) and Chris Brown (track & field); 1992-Matt Steigenga (basketball); 1991-Jason Muzzatti (hockey); 1990-Dawna Wilson (gymnastics) and Todd Mercer (swimming & diving); 1989-Kelly Collister (volleyball); 1988-Keiko Timmerman (gymnastics); 1987-Kristen Nelson (swimming & diving) and Barry Fordham (basketball); 1986-John Wojciehowski (football); 1985-Bob Fossum (golf) and Riney Wilke (lacrosse); 1984-Michael Brown (swimming & diving); 1983-Syd Wells (golf); 1982-Molly Brennan (track & field); 1981-Ivan Merritt (gymnastics); 1980-Michael Longaker (basketball); 1979-Kevin Willitts (lacrosse); 1978-Joan Garety (golf); 1977-Herb Lindsay (track/cross country).

Partners & Sponsors