MSU Spartans
Rotating image
Cross Country
McFarlane and VanDoorne Capture Jeff Drenth Crowns
Junior Rachel McFarlane
Junior Rachel McFarlane

Sept. 2, 2011

Complete Results

MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. - The Michigan State cross country team opened its 2011 season on Friday, Sept. 2 in Mount Pleasant, Mich., with the Jeff Drenth Memorial hosted by Central Michigan. The Spartans saw a pair of individuals capture the individual 5k crowns in both the men's and women's races.

Starting off the day on a high note for the Green and White was Isaiah Vandoorne capturing the men's crown in 15:39.73. VanDoorne was followed closely across the finish line by Ben Carruthers in second (15:42.63) and Drake Veitenheimer in third (15:42.91). Caleb Rhynard competed unattached for the Spartans and finished in fourth with a time of 15:48.58.

Stephen Humes' 16:22.14 and Chris Platt's 16:36.43 wrapped up the top-five attached runners for MSU. Other notable men include Reed Payant with a 16:25.45 and Chris Collier clocking in at 16:26.45.

Rachel McFarlane paced with women's race with her winning time of 18:23.63. Olivia Sydow placed third when she finished in 18:45.46. Leah O'Connor followed in fourth (18:58.07) and Devan John in fifth (19:01.10) to give MSU four of the top five finishers.



Lindsey Clark was the top unattached runner, clocking in at 19:05.10. Meggan Freeland's 19:18.51, Liana Eckert's 19:30.42 and Veronia Wilson's 19:30.80 rounded MSU's top 10 overall runners.

The Spartans return to action when they host their lone competition of the season with the Spartan Invitational. The race is scheduled for Friday, Sept. 16 with action beginning at 1 p.m.


at the official
Online Store

    • Loading Tweets...
      1 second ago