Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Michigan State Picked to Finish Third in Big Ten Preseason Poll

Senior Jordan Keur was first-team All-Big Ten last season and led the team with a .353 batting average.

Feb. 12, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State baseball was picked third in the Big Ten according to a poll of conference coaches as announced on Tuesday, Feb. 12. Indiana and Nebraska came in on top followed by MSU, Ohio State, Minnesota and Illinois. The Spartans are coming off a season that ended in the NCAA Regionals, their first trip to the tournament since 1979.

Three MSU players were also named to the Big Ten Players to Watch list. Senior RHP Andrew Waszak and junior RHP David Garner, along with senior left fielder Jordan Keur represented Michigan State on the list.

Waszak compiled a 4-4 record with a 2.96 ERA last season as the No. 2 starter and tied for first in the Big Ten with 16 starts and ranked second in innings pitched with 106.1, second most in school history.

Garner saw action as both a starter and reliever last season and had a 6-3 record with a 3.28 ERA. He ranked seventh in the Big Ten in strikeouts (75) and fourth in hits allowed (64).

Keur, who started in all 60 games (49 in left field, 11 in center field) last season, was the team's lone first-team All-Big Ten selection and led the team with a .353 batting average, good for eighth in the conference. He finished the season with 89 hits, second in the Big Ten only to teammate Ryan Jones; that total also ranks fourth most in an MSU single-season.

The Spartans kick off the season this weekend in Greenville, S.C., and will face Furman on Friday at 5 p.m. MSU will then play Miami-Ohio on Saturday and Northwestern on Sunday.

1. Indiana
2. Nebraska
3. Michigan State
4. Ohio State
5. Minnesota
6. Illinois

Kevin Johnson, Sr., SP, Illinois
Jordan Parr, Jr., OF, Illinois
Justin Parr, Sr., OF, Illinois
Joey DeNato, Jr., SP, Indiana
Kyle Schwarber, So., C/OF/DH, Indiana
Sam Travis, So., 1B/OF, Indiana
Sasha Kuebel, So., SP, Iowa
Dan Sheppard, Sr., C, Iowa
Jake Yacinich, So., SS, Iowa
Ben Ballantine, Sr., SP, Michigan
Patrick Biondi, Sr., OF, Michigan
Michael O'Neill, Jr., OF, Michigan
Jordan Keur, Sr., LF, Michigan State
David Garner, Jr., SP, Michigan State
Andrew Waszak, Sr., SP, Michigan State

Andy Henkemeyer, Sr., OF, Minnesota
Dan Olinger, Jr., 1B, Minnesota
Tom Windle, Jr., SP, Minnesota
Brandon Pierce, Jr., SP, Nebraska
Michael Pritchard, Jr., OF/DH, Nebraska
Dylan Vogt, Sr., RP, Nebraska
Luke Farrell, Sr., SP, Northwestern
Zach Morton, Sr., SP/UT, Northwestern
Trevor Stevens, Sr., SS, Northwestern
Josh Dezse, Jr., 1B/DH/RP, Ohio State
Brad Goldberg, Sr., SP, Ohio State
Jaron Long, Jr., SP, Ohio State
Steve Hill, Sr., SP, Penn State
Steve Snyder, Jr., CF, Penn State
David Walkling, Sr., SP, Penn State
Sean McHugh, Jr., 3B/C, Purdue
Brad Schreiber, Jr., SP, Purdue
Kyle Wood, Fr., SP/OF/1B, Purdue



Partners & Sponsors