Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Alex Troop Finalist For Olerud Award

May 31, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Michigan State’s Alex Troop is a finalist for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award announced Wednesday by the College Baseball Foundation.

Troop, a sophomore left-handed pitcher/first baseman is one of five finalists for the award. The Spartan is one of two players from the Big Ten Conference, joined by Nebraska’s Jake Meyers, along with two players from the Atlantic Coast Conference in Louisville’s Brendan McKay and Virginia’s Adam Haseley and one from the Big 12 Conference in West Virginia’s Braden Zarbnisky.

Troop, a sophomore from Batavia, Illinois, was tied for the B1G lead with eight wins this season, posting the second-most wins in conference only action with four victories, finishing the season with an 8-3 overall record. He also ended with a 2.47 ERA, ranking fourth in the conference. Troop was also fourth in the league stats with a .223 opposing batting average. By firing 83 strikeouts this season, the sophomore ranked fifth in the conference, just shy of MSU’s top 10 single-season strikeouts list, but helped the Spartan pitching staff total 420 Ks this season, the second-most in school history.

Troop was named Big Ten Pitcher of the Week on May 22 after pitching 8.0 innings in leading Michigan State to a 6-1 win over No. 15 Michigan on May 18 at McLane Stadium at Kobs Field. The sophomore left-hander took a perfect game into the sixth inning and a no-hitter into the seventh inning, chalking up 10 strikeouts while only allowing two hits, tying his career-highs for both Ks and hits allowed, set March 17 vs. Campbell. Troop held a high-powered Michigan lineup to its fewest hits of the season and its second-lowest run total.

At the plate, Troop hit .321 with 12 RBI and three HR, posting a .531 slugging percentage and a .444 on-base percentage.

The award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this summer.



Partners & Sponsors