Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Miles Bridges Selected as Finalist for Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year

Feb. 7, 2018

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State sophomore guard/forward Miles Bridges was selected as one of 10 finalists for the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award, announced Wednesday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

Named after Hall of Famer and 16-year professional basketball player Julius Erving, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top small forwards in Division I men's college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the initial watch list of 21 candidates and narrowed it to 10.

This is one of several honors for Bridges, who was named to the John R. Wooden Award® Late Season Top 20 by the Los Angeles Athletic Club on Monday and was one of 14 players selected to the midseason watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, which is presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association to college basketball's national player of the year.

Bridges leads Michigan State in scoring with 17.7 points per game, is second on the team with 7.3 rebounds and is averaging 3.0 assists and 1.0 blocks. He ranks tied for third in the Big Ten Conference in scoring, tied for eighth in rebounding and is third in free throw percentage (88.8 percent).

In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Erving and the Hall of Fame's selection committee for the 2018 Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award. The winner will be honored at ESPN's College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy's in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 6, 2018. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Julius Erving Small Forward of the Year Award include Josh Hart, Villanova (2017), Denzel Valentine, Michigan State (2016) and Stanley Johnson, Arizona (2015). For more information on the Julius Erving Award, visit



Partners & Sponsors