Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Gary Harris Named Finalist for Integris Wayman Tisdale Award

Gary Harris leads MSU in points with 13.3 per game.

March 4, 2013

ST. LOUIS - Michigan State guard Gary Harris has been named one of eight finalists for the 2013 Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award, voted on by the U.S. Basketball Writers Association.

The recipients are to be announced on Friday, April 5 in Atlanta and then formally presented on Monday, April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City.

The USBWA has chosen a national freshman of the year since the 1988-89 season when LSU's Chris Jackson was the recipient. Last season, Kentucky's Anthony Davis became the second winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award. Other notable previous winners of the award include Kevin Durant, Carmelo Anthony, Jason Kidd and Chris Webber.

Through 27 games, Harris is averaging a team-best 13.3 points and is fifth in the Big Ten in 3-point field goal percentage with a 42.2% mark beyond the arc. Harris also leads all Big Ten freshmen in conference games in scoring, 3-point field goal percentage, 3-point field goals made, and steals. He has been named Big Ten Freshman of the week three times this season, and is averaging 29.2 minutes per game despite battling lingering shoulder injuries throughout the season.

Joining Harris as finalists are Anthony Bennett (UNLV), Jahii Carson (Arizona State), Ben McLemore (Kansas), Shabazz Muhammad (UCLA), Nerlens Noel (Kentucky), Marcus Smart (Oklahoma State), and Rasheed Sulaimon (Duke).



Partners & Sponsors