Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Appling and Harris Split Team MVP at Awards Banquet

Keith Appling shared team MVP honors along with Gary Harris at the 2013 Men's Basketball Awards Banquet on Monday night.

March 11, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Junior Keith Appling and freshman Gary Harris shared the team MVP at the 2013 Men's Basketball Awards Banquet on Monday, March 11. Harris was selected by his teammates, while Appling earned the nod from the media.

In addition to MVP honors, Appling and Harris also split the John E. Benington Best Defensive Player Award. It is the third consecutive year collecting the award for Appling. He is second on the team in steals with 42 and is often asked to guard the opposition's best perimeter player.

Appling leads MSU in scoring with 13.5 per game, with Harris a close second at 13.2. Harris' mark is the third highest for a freshman at MSU, trailing only Magic Johnson and Shawn Respert.

Harris also leads all Big Ten freshmen in conference games in scoring (13.7), 3-point field goal percentage (47.2%), 3-point field goals made (42), and steals (29).

Junior Adreian Payne won the Most Improved Player Award, the Jumping Johnny Green Chairman of the Boards Award and the Scholar-Athlete Award. It is his second straight year receiving the Scholar-Athlete Award. Payne is third on the team in scoring, averaging 10.1 points. He also leads the team with 7.5 rebounds per game, good for fourth in the Big Ten. Last season, Payne averaged 7.0 points and 4.2 rebounds.

MSU's lone senior Derrick Nix was voted to receive the Antonio Smith Glue and Guts Award, as well as the Stephen G. Scofes Inspirational Player Award. Nix has now totaled four distinct awards in his career, after being named Most Improved Player and winning the Unsung Player Award last season.

Freshman Denzel Valentine was the recipient of the Unsung Player Award this season as he averages 5.1 points, 4.1 rebounds and 21.3 minutes per game. He played in all 31 games and made 15 starts.



For the second straight season, Dan Chapman collected the Tim Bograkos Walk-on Award. Chapman has appeared in nine contests this season and is an intricate part of the scout team.

2013 Michigan State Basketball Banquet Award Winners:
MVP (Team Vote) - Gary Harris
MVP (Media Vote) - Keith Appling
Scholar-Athlete Award - Adreian Payne
Unsung Player Award - Denzel Valentine
Tim Bograkos Walk-On Award - Dan Chapman
Most Improved Player Award - Adreian Payne
John E. Benington Best Defensive Player Award - Keith Appling/Gary Harris
Stephen G. Scofes Inspirational Player Award - Derrick Nix
Antonio Smith Glue and Guts Award - Derrick Nix
Jumping Johnny Green Chairman of the Boards Award - Adreian Payne
Senior Manager Award (6) - Adam Clark, TJ Hurley, Alexander Kruse, Christopher Kruse, Geoff Laporte, Zach Peterson

Partners & Sponsors