Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Payne Named To USA Basketball World University Games Team

Adreian Payne will represent the USA at the 2013 World University Games. (Photo: Steven Maikoski/USA Basketball)

July 1, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - On Saturday, Michigan State senior Adreian Payne was named to the 12-member USA Basketball Men's World University Games Team. On July 1, the team departs for Russia to compete at the 2013 World University Games in Kazan, Russia, July 7-16.

Four players from the Big Ten Conference are on the USA squad, as Payne is joined by Yogi Ferrell and Will Sheehey from Indiana and Iowa's Aaron White. Rounding out the team are Colorado's Spencer Dinwiddie, VCU's Treveon Graham, Louisville's Luke Hancock, BYU's Tyler Haws, Baylor's Cory Jefferson, Cincinnati's Sean Kilpatrick, New Mexico's Alex Kirk and Creighton's Doug McDermott.

"Clearly versatility, we have guys that can play more than one position, that's one of the great strengths we have," said USA head coach Bob McKillop (Davidson College). "I think we shoot the ball particularly well from a number of positions, and we've got guys who want to be teammates. Those two things, to me, are the biggest advantages that we have, or the biggest strengths for our team."

Assisting McKillop on the USA sideline are Michigan's John Beilein and South Carolina's Frank Martin.

After departing on July 1, the USA will practice on July 3-6 in Kazan, Russia, including scrimmages on July 4 against Russian basketball club UNICS and on July 5 against the Russia World University Games Team before beginning World University Games play on July 7.

The USA has drawn preliminary round Group C for the 2013 World University Games men's basketball competition, along with Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, Sweden and United Arab Emirates. Playing in Group A are Estonia, Germany, Oman, Russia, Ukraine and South Korea. Playing in Group B are Japan, Mexico, Mongolia, Philippines, Romania and Serbia. Group D includes Brazil, Chile, China, Finland, Lithuania and Norway.

The USA will take on UAE at 6:30 p.m. (times listed are local; Kazan, Russia, is +8 hours from EDT) on July 7; followed by Czech Republic at 1 p.m. on July 8; and Sweden at 9 p.m. on July 10; Australia at 6:30 p.m. on July 11; and Canada at 1 p.m. on July 12.



Following the preliminary round, the first and second-placed teams in each of the four pools advance to the medal quarterfinals on July 14 to compete for first through eighth places; while the remaining teams will play out for ninth to 24th places. The semifinals will be played on July 15, and the finals will be contested on July 16.

The players were selected by the 2013-16 USA Basketball Men's Junior National Team Committee. Chaired by Syracuse's Jim Boeheim, the committee includes NCAA appointees McKillop, Purdue's Matt Painter and Washington's Lorenzo Romar, as well as athlete representative Curtis Sumpter, a member of the 2011 USA Pan American Games Team and the 2004 USA U20 National Team.

Partners & Sponsors