Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartans Honored at State Capitol

MSU head coach Mark Dantonio speaks to the State Senate on Thursday in the Michigan State Capitol.

March 20, 2014

Photo Gallery

LANSING, Mich. - The entire Michigan State coaching staff and select members of the 2014 Rose Bowl Champion Spartan football team were honored Thursday at the State Capitol. The Spartans were recognized with a tribute on the floors of both the Senate and House, and also visited with Gov. Rick Snyder and Lt. Gov. Brian Calley in the Governor's Capitol Office.

The team first entered the Senate floor and was greeted with speeches by Senate Minority Leader Gretchen Whitmer and Senate Majority Leader Randy Richardville. MSU head coach Mark Dantonio also gave some brief remarks.

"I want to thank everyone for having us here today," said Dantonio to the State Senate. "This is a tremendous honor. When you walk through that door and you walk in among people who make decisions in this state at the highest level, it's quite an honor just to be among you. Thank you so much, and Go Green! All I can tell you is dream big and great things are possible for all of us."

Dantonio then officially adjourned the session after pounding the gavel with a smile.

Following a meet and greet with legislators and staff members, the team met Governor Snyder and Lt. Governor Calley in the Governor's Capital Office and posed for a photo.

Before heading to the House Chamber, state representatives greeted the Spartans on the glass floor of the Capitol by singing the MSU Fight Song. Dantonio also visited with U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow on the glass floor.

State Reps. John Walsh, Sam Singh, and Jase Bolger recognized the Spartans with tributes and the House officially passed a resolution honoring the team.

The Spartans ended their visit to the Capitol with each player posing for a photo with Coach Dantonio on the glass floor in the rotunda.

The Spartans that visited the State Capitol were Jack Allen, Jack Conklin, Connor Cook, Kurtis Drummond, Bennie Fowler, Dan France, Michael Geiger, Darien Harris, Travis Jackson, Jairus Jones, Paul Lang, Jeremy Langford, Tony Lippett, Keith Mumphery, Micajah Reynolds, Mike Sadler, Mark Scarpinato, Blake Treadwell and Trae Waynes.

"This is my first time at the Capitol, surprisingly," said Reynolds, a Lansing native. "It makes you feel great. You always see different teams going back to their capitols and the White House, so it's a real special experience that we were able to make it here after the victory. My first time in the Capitol, and I get treated like this - so it's pretty nice."



Partners & Sponsors