Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Big Ten Announces 2014 Conference Football Schedule

Michigan State's 2014 Big Ten schedule has been released.

May 16, 2013

Complete 2014 Big Ten Football Schedule

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten office announced the conference schedule for the 2014 football season on Thursday, as approved by the Big Ten directors of athletics. The 2014 schedule will consist of eight games for each of the Big Ten's 14 teams, feature a new division alignment, include the conference debut of Maryland and Rutgers and culminate with the fourth-annual Big Ten Football Championship Game.

Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin in the West Division. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.

Michigan State's 2014 Big Ten schedule will open on Oct. 4 at Spartan Stadium, as the Spartans will host West Division foe Nebraska. MSU's second game against the West Division will be at Purdue in West Lafayette, Ind., on Oct. 11.

The Spartans begin East Division play at Indiana on Oct. 18, followed by home games against Michigan (Oct. 25) and Ohio State (Nov. 8). It will mark the first time in series history that Michigan State has hosted Michigan in back-to-back seasons; the Spartans take on the Wolverines Nov. 2, 2013, in Spartan Stadium.

MSU will make its first trip to Maryland since 1944 and only the second in series history on Nov. 15. The Spartans are set to close the home season on Nov. 22 for its first-ever Big Ten game against Rutgers.



The 2013 regular-season finale will be Nov. 29 at Penn State, as the Spartans and Nittany Lions will renew their Land Grant Trophy series. Michigan State last played Penn State in the 2010 regular-season finale and defeated PSU, 28-22, to clinch a share of the Big Ten Championship.

Michigan State's non-conference schedule in 2014 features home games against Jacksonville State (Aug. 30), Wyoming (Sept. 20) and Eastern Michigan (Sept. 27), along with a trip to Oregon (Sept. 13).

From Sept. 27 to Nov. 29, the 2014 Big Ten schedule will feature 10 consecutive weekends of Big Ten competition, boasting at least five conference games each week. All 14 teams will be in action during the final two weekends of Big Ten play, including six division games each weekend. The final weekend of the 2014 season begins with Nebraska at Iowa in a matchup of West Division rivals on Friday, Nov. 28. The Saturday, Nov. 29, schedule feature two more West Division matchups in Illinois at Northwestern and Minnesota at Wisconsin, three East Division contests in Michigan at Ohio State, Michigan State at Penn State and Rutgers at Maryland and a cross-division game with Purdue at Indiana. The winners of each division will meet in the 2014 Big Ten Football Championship Game, scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 6, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.


Sept. 13: at Oregon
Sept. 20: WYOMING
Oct. 11: at Purdue
Oct. 18: at Indiana
Nov. 15: at Maryland
Nov. 22: RUTGERS
Nov. 29: at Penn State

Partners & Sponsors