Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Scott Makes Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 18, 2018

EAST LANSING, Mich. – Michigan State senior running back LJ Scott was named to the 2018 Doak Walker Award Watch List, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced Wednesday. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation’s top college running back.

Earlier this week, Scott was featured on the Maxwell Award Watch List for the college football player of the year.

Scott led the Spartans in rushing last season for the third consecutive year with 898 yards on a career-high 201 carries (4.5 avg.). He ranked eighth in the Big Ten with 74.8 rushing yards per game. In 2018, Scott will be looking to become just the third Spartan in school history to lead the team in rushing four straight years (Javon Ringer, 2005-08; Lorenzo White, 1984-87). Scott also led the team with career-best eight rushing touchdowns.

The Youngstown, Ohio, native is one of 12 Spartan running backs in school history to rush for more than 2,500 career yards. He eclipsed the 2,500-yard mark during the Holiday Bowl and currently ranks 12th in the MSU record book with 2,591 rushing yards. In addition, his 25 career rushing touchdowns are tied for 12th in the school record book.

Scott has nine career 100-yard rushing games, including three in 2017 (career-high 194 yards at Minnesota on Oct. 14; 147 vs. Maryland on Nov. 18; 110 vs. Washington State on Dec. 28). He recorded his third 100-yard rushing game of the season in the Holiday Bowl, gaining 110 yards on 18 carries (6.1 avg.), including a 28-yard touchdown run in the fourth quarter that gave MSU a 42-17 lead. In addition, Scott had a career-high 20 receptions for 146 yards (7.3 avg.) in 2017 to lead the team in all-purpose yards with 1,044 (87.0 ypg).

In 38 career games, including 18 starts, Scott has rushed for 2,591 yards (68.2 ypg; 4.9 avg.) and 25 touchdowns. Scott ranks 11th in MSU history in carries (531), 12th in rushing yards (2,591) and tied for 12th in rushing touchdowns (25).



The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced on Nov. 20. The committee will cast a second vote beginning Nov. 26 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives. The recipient of the 2018 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6 on ESPN. The award, which will name its 29th recipient in 2018, is named for SMU’s three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

Partners & Sponsors