MSU Spartans
Rotating image
Mark Dantonio Named Semifinalist for Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year
Mark Dantonio is one of 16 candidates for the Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year.
Mark Dantonio is one of 16 candidates for the Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year.

Nov. 20, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State seventh-year head football coach Mark Dantonio has been named one of 16 semifinalists for the Maxwell Football Club Coach of the Year, the MFC National Selection Committee announced on Wednesday.

Dantonio has led the Spartans to a 9-1 record this season and at least of a share of the Big Ten Legends Division title as MSU is 6-0 in Big Ten play. The Spartans, who are bowl eligible for a school-record seventh consecutive year, are ranked 13th in the Bowl Championship Series standings and also sit at No. 13 in this week's Associated Press and USA TODAY Coaches Polls.

Michigan State features the top-ranked defense in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, ranking first in total defense (228.4 ypg.) and rushing defense (57.3 ypg.). The Spartans have been ranked No. 1 in the FBS in total defense for 10 consecutive weeks.

MSU also ranks among the national leaders in pass efficiency defense (second with 94.4 rating), first downs defense (second at 13.3 pg.), opponent third-down conversions (second at .274; 40-for-146), scoring defense (fourth at 13.2 ppg.) and passing defense (fifth at 171.1 ypg.). Michigan State, Florida State and Louisville are the only three schools in the FBS to rank in the top five nationally in total defense, scoring defense, rushing defense and passing defense. The Spartans also lead the Big Ten in seven defensive categories (total defense, scoring defense, rushing defense, pass defense, pass efficiency defense, opponent third-down conversions, first downs defense).

Offensively, the Spartans rank among the Big Ten leaders in conference games in scoring offense (fourth with 32.3 ppg.), rushing offense (fourth with 189.0 ypg.), total offense (sixth with 401.8 ypg.) and passing offense (sixth with 212.8 ypg.). In addition, Michigan State leads the FBS in time of possession (34:56 per game).

Dantonio, who owns a 60-29 (.674) record at Michigan State, already ranks among MSU's all-time leaders in career wins (fourth) and winning percentage (fifth). He has four nine-win seasons at Michigan State, the most by any coach in school history (9 in 2008, 11 in 2010, 11 in 2011).



The Spartans have won 38 of their last 50 games (.760), dating back to the beginning of the 2010 season. The 38 wins are tied for most in the Big Ten and 11th most in the FBS during that same time period. In addition, MSU has recorded 33 Big Ten victories since 2008, the most of any team in the conference (Note: Ohio State has won 38 games, but had to vacate seven victories following the 2010 season.).The Spartans produced back-to-back 11-win seasons in 2010-11 for the first time in program history, claimed a share of the Big Ten Championship in 2010, and won the inaugural Big Ten Legends Divisions title in 2011. Dantonio has led Michigan State to Top 25 finishes in three of the last five seasons (2008: No. 24 both polls; 2010: No. 14 both polls; and 2011: No. 10 USA TODAY/No. 11 AP).

Dantonio was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year in 2010 after leading the Spartans to a share of the Big Ten Championship and a school-record 11 wins. He was also selected the National Coach of the Year by, and, and was named a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant, Eddie Robinson and Liberty Mutual National Coach of the Year Awards. In 2008, Dantonio was named one of 15 finalists for the George Munger Coach of the Year Award after leading MSU to a 9-3 regular-season mark.

Michigan State will look to win the Big Ten Legends Division title outright for the second time in three years as it takes on Northwestern Saturday, Nov. 23 in Evanston, Ill., at 12 p.m. EST. MSU, which owns a 6-0 Big Ten record for just the third time in program history (1965, 1966), secured at least a share of the division title with its first-ever win over Nebraska last week in Lincoln, 41-28. The Spartans can earn a trip to Indianapolis for the Big Ten Championship Game on Dec. 7 with at least one win in its next two games, or one more loss by Minnesota.

MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalists
Nick Saban, Alabama
Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Art Briles, Baylor
Steve Addazio, Boston College
Dabo Swinney, Clemson
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Gary Pinkel, Missouri
Rod Carey, Northern Illinois
Urban Meyer, Ohio State
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State
George O'Leary, UCF
Ed Orgeron, USC
Gary Andersen, Wisconsin


at the official
Online Store