Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Pat Narduzzi Named Finalist for Broyles Award

Pat Narduzzi is a finalist for the 2013 Frank Broyles Award.

Dec. 2, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State seventh-year assistant head coach/defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi has been named one of five finalists for the Frank Broyles Award, which is awarded annually to the nation's top assistant coach.

The Broyles Award selection committee has chosen the following five finalists for the 2013 Broyles Award:

• Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks, Auburn
• Philip Montgomery, Offensive Coordinator, Baylor
• Kurt Roper, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks, Duke
• Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator, Florida State
Pat Narduzzi, Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Coordinator, Michigan State

Narduzzi has helped construct the No. 1 defense in the Football Bowl Subdivision this season. Through 12 games, Michigan State's defense ranks No. 1 in the FBS in total defense (237.7 yards per game), rushing defense (64.8 ypg.) and pass efficiency defense (91.8 rating). MSU has been ranked No. 1 in the nation in total defense for 12 consecutive weeks. The Spartans also rank among the national leaders in opponent third-down conversions (second at .287; 52-for-181), first downs defense (second at 14.1 pg.), scoring defense (fourth at 11.8 ppg.) and passing defense (ninth at 172.9 ypg.).

Michigan State also leads the Big Ten in seven defensive categories (total defense, scoring defense, rushing defense, pass defense, pass efficiency defense, opponent third-down conversions, first downs defense).

MSU's defense has allowed just 3.77 yards per play and 2.23 yards per rushing attempt, both of which rank No. 1 in the FBS. In addition, MSU also leads the FBS in opponent plays of 10-plus yards (99) and opponent rushes of 10-plus yards (19). The Spartans also have allowed just 32 plays of 20-plus yards (2.7 pg.), which is tied for fourth fewest in the FBS. The Spartans have held 10 of their 12 opponents below 100 yards rushing.



Michigan State has held six opponents without scoring a touchdown (South Florida, Purdue, Illinois, Michigan, Northwestern, Minnesota), and the Spartans shut out six of their eight Big Ten opponents in the second half. Through 12 games in 2013, the Spartans have allowed 16 touchdowns (five rushing, 11 passing), tied for second fewest in the FBS.

The Spartans feature five first-team All-Big Ten selections on defense, which is tied for the most in school history (1966). Senior linebacker Max Bullough, sophomore defensive end Shilique Calhoun, senior cornerback Darqueze Dennard, junior safety Kurtis Drummond and senior safety Isaiah Lewis all garnered first-team accolades from the league's coaches, while Bullough, Calhoun and Dennard were also on the media's first team.

Eight of MSU's starters received All-Big Ten recognition (second team: senior linebacker Denicos Allen; honorable mention: junior defensive end Marcus Rush, sophomore cornerback Trae Waynes).

Calhoun was named the Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year, while Dennard was named the Defensive Back of the Year. Dennard is also a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (nation's best defensive back) and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (nation's best defensive player).

Since 2011, Michigan State's defense has been one of the most consistent in the FBS. The Spartans are one of just five NCAA FBS schools, along with Alabama, Florida State, Florida and LSU, to rank among the Top 10 nationally in total defense the past two seasons. Michigan State ranked fourth in total defense in 2012 (274.4 ypg.) and sixth in 2011 (277.4 ypg).

Narduzzi has been named the National Coordinator of the Week three times in his career - all for his game plans in wins over Michigan (2010, 2011, 2013), including this season, when the Wolverines were sacked seven times and were held to a school-record low minus-48 yards rushing.

During Narduzzi's tenure at MSU, his players have earned All-Big Ten honors 56 times, including 11 different first-team selections.

The 2013 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, Dec. 10 at 12:30 p.m. ET at the Marriot Hotel in Little Rock, Ark. The Broyles Award is presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock. The winner of the 2012 Broyles Award was Bob Diaco from Notre Dame.

The Broyles Award honors the top assistant college football coach in America and was established in 1996 to honor legendary Arkansas Head Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website,

For more information, visit or search for Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

There are few coaches whose efforts have forever impacted the game of college football. Bear Bryant, Knute Rockne, Frank Leahy and Eddie Robinson have set the standard for victories and championships on the gridiron. However when it comes to selecting, developing and producing great assistant coaches, the legacy of Frank Broyles stands alone. Former Broyles assistant coaches who have become head coaches have gone on to coach in 20 percent of all Super Bowls and win almost 15 percent of all Super Bowl titles plus five national collegiate championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2,000 games. More than 25 Broyles assistants went on to become head coaches at the college or professional level, including: Joe Gibbs, Hayden Fry, Raymond Berry, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors, Jackie Sherrill and Barry Switzer.

In 1996, the Broyles Award was established to recognize the dedicated, hard-working assistants like those who worked for Broyles, and to date, seventy plus finalists and fifteen winners have been honored. Like many of Broyles' assistants who went on to do great things, numerous coaches recognized by the Broyles Award have since remained in the spotlight, with 20 percent of finalists and winners going on to become head coaches.

The finalists are chosen by a 10 person panel that may be the most prestigious of any awards panel, representing 10 national championships, more than 2,000 victories, over 70 conference titles, 154 bowl game appearances and 13 national head coach of the year honors. Broyles Award Panelists: Former Arkansas Athletic Director and Coach Frank Broyles, former Georgia Coach Vince Dooley, former Washington Coach Don James, former Syracuse Coach Dick MacPherson, former Baylor Coach Grant Teaff, former Brigham Young Coach LaVell Edwards, former Iowa Coach Hayden Fry, former Oklahoma Coach Barry Switzer, former Tennessee and Pittsburgh Coach Johnny Majors, and former Florida State University Coach Bobby Bowden.

Partners & Sponsors