Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Men's Golf Gets Ready For 2013 Big Ten Championship

Senior Dan Ellis earned all-championship honors last year, tying for fifth at the 2012 Big Ten Championship.

April 25, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The championship season has arrived for the Michigan State men's golf team. The Spartans head to French Lick, Ind. for the 2013 Big Ten Championship, beginning on Friday, April 26. Competition at the French Lick Resort's Pete Dye Course (par 72, 7,152 yards) starts at 8 a.m. ET with 36 holes and concludes with 18 holes on both Saturday (9 a.m. ET) and Sunday (8 a.m. ET).

Live Scoring | Video Preview

"We are excited about returning to French Lick and the Big Ten Championship," said second-year Spartan head coach Casey Lubahn. "It is always a special time of year. We have fond memories of the course and it is a place where we will feel comfortable.

"The guys have had some nice breakthroughs this week and we know we are capable of contending if we make high percentage plays and embrace the opportunity."

The Spartans will travel an experienced group to French Lick - seniors Dan Ellis, Dave Ellis and Matthew Moseley, junior Carson Castellani and freshman Mitch Rutledge. All three seniors posted top-20 finishes at last year's Big Ten Championship, marking three of the nine returning top-20 finishers from last season. Castellani and Rutledge will be making their postseason debuts.

Moseley has played in the previous three Big Ten Championships, finishing 18th last season, 43rd as a sophomore and 42nd as a freshman. The Ellis twins have each played in two Big Tens, as Dan tied for fifth last season to earn all-championship honors and tied for 29th as a junior, while Dave was 20th last year and 32nd in 2010.



Moseley has been Michigan State's leader all season with a team-best 73.8 scoring average, while leading the team in seven of the 10 stroke play events, including three top-5 and six top-20 placements.

Michigan State has won four Big Ten titles in its history (1969, 2005, 2007, 2008) and has one medalist finish (Eric Jorgensen in 2002).

Seven of the 12 Big Ten schools are currently ranked in the top-100 of the latest Golfstat rankings - Northwestern (28), Illinois (35), Iowa (56), Indiana (67), Purdue (80), Ohio State (89) and MSU (97).

The Big Ten Network will broadcast the 2013 Big Ten Championship on Sunday, May 12 at 12 p.m. ET.

Partners & Sponsors