MSU Spartans
Rotating image
Men's Golf Tees It Up at the 2014 Big Ten Championship
Sophomore Mitch Rutledge finished 42nd in his Big Ten Championship debut last season.
Sophomore Mitch Rutledge finished 42nd in his Big Ten Championship debut last season.

May 1, 2014

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The 2014 Big Ten Championship awaits the Michigan State men's golf team this weekend. The Spartans head to French Lick, Ind., where competition at the Pete Dye Course at the French Lick Resort begins Friday at 8:40 a.m. ET with 36 holes. The third round on Saturday is set for 9 a.m. ET, while the final round on Sunday will begin at 8 a.m. ET. It is the third-straight year the championship has been held at the French Lick Resort.

Live Scoring | Video Preview

"Big Ten Championships are always special," said third-year Spartan head coach Casey Lubahn. "French Lick is an incredible experience for our players and coaches and the course suits our players well. This week is about winning the mental, strategic and trust battle for every shot. If we can make good decisions, we can execute well and put ourselves in contention on Sunday"

The Spartans will feature a lineup of seniors Gareth Blease and Carson Castellani, sophomore Mitch Rutledge, and freshmen Gareth Lappin and Charlie Netzel. Castellani and Rutledge made their Big Ten Championship debuts last year, as Rutledge placed 42nd with a 20-over par 308 (78-79-73-78) and Castellani tied for 43rd at 21-over par 309 (73-82-76-78). Blease played as a freshman in 2011, tying for 53rd in West Lafayette.

Four different Spartans - Blease, Castellani, Netzel and Rutledge - have led MSU in the four spring stroke play tournaments. Rutledge leads the Spartans with a 74.60 scoring average, in addition to four top-20 and two top-10 finishes.



Four Big Ten teams are ranked among the top 50 of the latest Golfstat national rankings - Illinois (No. 9), Iowa (No. 35), Purdue (No. 43) and Northwestern (No. 50).

The Spartans were fourth in 2012 and eighth in 2013 in the two previous championships in French Lick, and the two under Lubahn.

Michigan State has won four Big Ten titles in its history (1969, 2005, 2007, 2008) and has one medalist finish (Eric Jorgensen in 2002).

Big Ten Network will provide tape-delayed coverage of the Big Ten Championships on Wednesday, May 14 at 7 p.m. ET.


at the official
Online Store