Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Weatherhead and Netzel Earn Second-Team All-Big Ten Golf Honors

May 2, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State men’s golfers Sam Weatherhead and Charlie Netzel earned second-team All-Big Ten honors, announced the league office on Tuesday. Postseason honors are voted on by the league’s head coaches.

Both Weatherhead and Netzel earned their first All-Big Ten honor, and the Spartans’ first since Mitch Rutledge earned second-team honors last season. Matthew Moseley was named to the second team in 2013. Prior to Moseley, Jack Newman was named second-team All-Big Ten in 2009 and 2010.

Weatherhead, a native of Grand Rapids, Michigan, has endured an injury-shortened season, but despite the setbacks was ranked No. 31 by Golfstat. The senior had a season-low 66 en route to a third-place finish at the Bearcat Invitational. Weatherhead’s best result of the season was a second-place finish at the Gopher Invitational in September. The senior finished tied for fifth at the Quail Valley Intercollegiate with a season low 208, including a pair of sub-70 rounds.

Netzel, a native of Western Springs, Illinois, had a breakout senior campaign. The senior had one tournament victory, capturing the Colleton River Collegiate in March. He had a career-low 205 at the prestigious Alister MacKenzie Invitational. He ended the season strong with back-to-back top 10 finishes to end the regular season. Netzel averaged a 72.56, which was the lowest of any Spartan competing in more than six events.

Illinois’ Dylan Meyer was named Big Ten Player of the Year, while his teammate, Michael Feagles, was tabbed the Freshman of the Year. The Fighting Illini’s Mike Small claimed Coach of the Year honors for the third-straight season.

The first-team All-Big Ten features Illinois’ Feagles and Meyer, as well as Nick Hardy and Edoardo Lipparelli. Michigan’s Kyle Mueller, Northwestern’s Ryan Lumsden and Dylan Wu also joined Penn State’s Charles Huntzinger on the first team.

Junior Michael Sharp was Michigan State’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The Big Ten recognizes 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Current MSU head coach Casey Lubahn was the first Spartan player to earn the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award in 2004.

Big Ten Player of the Year: Dylan Meyer, Illinois
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Michael Feagles, Illinois
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Mike Small, Illinois

First Team
Michael Feagles, Illinois
NICK HARDY, Illinois
Edoardo Lipparelli, Illinois
Kyle Mueller, Michigan
Ryan Lumsden, Northwestern
DYLAN WU, Northwestern

Second Team
Raymond Knoll, Iowa
Matthew Walker, Iowa
Charlie Netzel, Michigan State
Sam Weatherhead, Michigan State
Will Grimmer, Ohio State
Cole Miller, Penn State
Austin Eoff, Purdue
Fernando Barco, Purdue

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Bryan Baumgarten, Illinois
Jack Sparrow, Indiana
Carson Schaake, Iowa
Tim Colanta, Maryland
Reed Hrynewich, Michigan
Michael Sharp, Michigan State
Riley Johnson, Minnesota
Cameron Jones, Nebraska
Sam Triplett, Northwestern
Daniel Wetterich, Ohio State
Cole Miller, Penn State
Fernando Barco, Purdue
Jack Pangos, Rutgers
Pete Kuhl, Wisconsin



Partners & Sponsors