Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Hobey Baker Memorial Award


The Hobey Baker Memorial Award has been presented annually since 1981 to the outstanding college hockey player in the United States by the Decathlon Athletic Club of Bloomington, Minn.

The award is named after college hockey great Hobey Baker of Princeton, a member of both the United States Hockey Hall of Fame in Eveleth, Minn., and the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto. Also a standout in football, he is also a member of the National Football Hall of Fame.

Baker's brilliant skating and stickhandling abilities allowed him to dominate the college game and lead Princeton to the Intercollegiate League Championship in each of his three years of varsity hockey (1911-14). He added to his physical prowess the exemplary qualities of being a completely unselfish sportsman and an opponent of publicity. Facts about Baker's career often sound more like myths, such as the story of his playing every second of a 73-minute game against Harvard, or the claim that he was penalized just twice during his career, and both times the mere suggestion that he had violated a rule of the game nearly drove him to tears.

Spartan center Kip Miller was the recipient of the 10th Hobey Baker Memorial Award in 1990 after leading the nation in scoring for the second consecutive season with 101 points on 48 goals and 53 assists.

A two-time first-team All-Central Collegiate Hockey Association honoree, Miller was recognized as the league's Player of the Year after leading the conference in scoring for the second straight season with 36 goals and 38 assists for 74 points.

In MSU's career record books, the two-time first-team All-America selection finished third in goals (116), assists (145) and points (261). He closed out his career among the NCAA's top 25 all-time point producers.

Over the course of his four seasons, the Spartans won three CCHA regular season and playoff titles and amassed an impressive 132-45-9 record. The 1989-90 Hockey News/Bauer College Hockey Player of the Year also led the Spartans to their ninth consecutive NCAA tournament appearance as a senior.

Miller's Career Statistics

Year    GP  G   A   P   PEN/MIN PPG SHG GWG HT
1989-90 45  48  53 101  26/60   21   1   7  4
1988-89 47  32  45  77  43/94    7   4   1  2
1987-88 39  16  25  41  25/51    5   0   2  1
1986-87 45  20  22  42  43/94    3   0   3  0
TOTALS 176 116 145 261 137/299  36   5  13  7

Michigan State Hobey Baker Finalists

The Spartans have had 10 players among the top 10 candidates for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, including 1990 winner Kip Miller. Goalie Ron Scott was the runner-up to Bowling Green's George McPhee in 1982.

  • Ron Scott, 1982
  • Ron Scott, 1983
  • Kelly Miller, 1985
  • Craig Simpson, 1985
  • Mike Donnelly, 1986
  • Kip Miller, 1989
  • Bobby Reynolds, 1989
  • Kip Miller, 1990
  • Bryan Smolinski, 1993
  • Anson Carter, 1995

Partners & Sponsors