Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three Spartans On CCHA All-Time Team

Ryan Miller

March 15, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- - Continuing to `Celebrate The Legacy' in its' 42nd and final season, the Central Collegiate Hockey Association (CCHA) has released the league's All-Time Team to honor the league's top performers from the past 42 seasons. Three Michigan State players make the list - Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners Kip Miller and Ryan Miller, while John-Michael Liles was a second team honoree.

Kip Miller

Michigan State's three players is second only to the four selected from Bowling Green, but MSU is the only school to have two players appear on the First Team.

The illustrious group of 12 players, selected by a committee of coaches, administrators and media, joins the league's All-Decade teams from the 1970s, 1980s and 1990s that were selected in 2001, and the All-Decade Team from 2000-13 that was selected earlier this season.

All 12 players selected to the CCHA All-Time Team were All-Americans (eight multiple All-Americans) and graduated to professional careers. Ten played in the National Hockey League (NHL), Michigan State goaltender Ryan Miller blossomed into an NHL All-Star and U.S. Olympian, and Bowling Green defenseman Ken Morrow won a Gold medal with the 1980 U.S. Olympic Team. Morrow (N.Y. Islanders) and Lake Superior forward Jim Dowd (New Jersey Devils) each has their name engraved on the Stanley Cup.

The CCHA All-Time Team was chosen from the All-Decade First-Team players, Hobey Baker Award winners and All-Americans that played at least three years of college hockey. The selections were made by a committee of coaches, administrators and media that have been involved with the league for the better part of the last three decades.

Below is the team in alphabetical order by position with their overall career totals. The All-Time Team includes four Hobey Baker Award winners, including McPhee, the league's first winner in 1982, along with Kip Miller (1990), Morrison (1997) and Ryan Miller (2002). Morrison and Ryan Miller are the league's only two-time Players of the Year, while Emerson is the league's all-time leading scorer and Gagne is the all-time top scorer among CCHA defensemen.

CCHA All-Time Team


F - George McPhee, Bowling Green (1978-82) 153 GP; 114-153-267
F - Kip Miller, Michigan State (1986-90) 176 GP; 118-143-261
F - Brendan Morrison, Michigan (1993-97) 155 GP; 102-182-284
D - Wayne Gagne, Western Michigan (1983-87) 162 GP; 42-199-241
D - Andy Greene, Miami (2002-06) 159 GP; 27-87-114
G - Ryan Miller, Michigan State (1999-2002) 73-18-12; 1.54 GAA, .941 Sv%


F - Jim Dowd, Lake Superior (1987-91) 181 GP; 91-183-274
F - Nelson Emerson, Bowling Green (1986-90) 178 GP; 112-182-294
F - Bill Joyce, Northern Michigan (1976-80) 130 GP; 112-143- 255
D - John-Michael Liles, Michigan State (1999-03) 162 GP; 44-94-138
D - Ken Morrow, Bowling Green (1975-79) 154 GP; 34-92-126
G - Mike Liut, Bowling Green (1973-77) 53-27-1; 3.35 GAA, .888 Sv%



Partners & Sponsors