Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Two Hockey Players Nominated for Award

Alban and York among Hobey Finalists.

March 22, 1998

Ten finalists for the 1998 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, presented annually to college hockey's top player, were announced Friday afternoon by foundation officials at the Decathlon Hotel & Athletic Club in Bloomington, Minn.

Michigan State was well represented in the group, as senior goaltender Chad Alban and junior center Mike York are among the final 10. MSU is one of only two teams in the nation (New Hampshire) to have two finalists.

Alban and York are the 11th and 12th finalists from Michigan State in the 18-year history of the award. It is only the second time the Spartans have had two finalists; in 1988-89 Bobby Reynolds and Kip Miller were both finalists, as Miller won the award a year later.

The ten, selected in balloting by Division I coaches, are (in alphabetical order):

Chad Alban, Sr. G Michigan State University
Dan Boyle, Sr. D Miami University
Chris Drury, Sr. F Boston University
Ray Giroux, Sr. D Yale University
Eric Healey, Sr. F Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Jason Krog, Jr. F University of New Hampshire
Mark Mowers, Sr. F University of New Hampshire
Bill Muckalt, Sr. F University of Michigan
Curtis Murphy, Sr. D University of North Dakota
Mike York, Jr. F Michigan State University

The 18-member Hobey Baker Selection Committee, which includes coaches, media personnel, professional scouts and a representative of USA Hockey, Inc., will choose the winner from among the finalists. The winner will be named and the award presented at Faneuil Hall in Boston on Friday, Apr. 3, the off day at the NCAA championships.

Partners & Sponsors