Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Stanley Cup Playoffs Begin for Three Spartans

April 12, 2018

EAST LANSING - The 2018 Stanley Cup Playoffs begin Thursday for three Spartans as Derek Grant, Ryan Miller and Torey Krug will look to help their teams claim the sport’s ultimate prize. Grant and Miller and the Anaheim Ducks will square off with the San Jose Sharks in round one, while in the Eastern Conference, Krug and the Boston Bruins face Original Six rival Toronto.

Both Krug and Grant had the best seasons of their professional careers in 2017-18. Krug racked up a career-high 59 points and his 45 assists led all Boston defensemen and ranked second on the team. Grant had a career-high 24 points (12g, 12a) in 66 games for Anaheim.

Miller, who is in his 15th season, recently became the second-winningest U.S.-born goaltender in NHL history with 370 all-time wins. In 28 appearances for the Ducks this season, Miller posted a .928 save percentage and 2.35 goals-against average along with a 12-6-0-6 (W-L-T-OT) record.

MSU has had a Stanley Cup winner in seven of the last 12 seasons. Duncan Keith was the last Spartan to win the Cup as he claimed his third with the Chicago Blackhawks in 2015 while also taking home the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP. In total, 11 Spartans have hoisted Lord Stanley's Cup, including head coach Danton Cole with New Jersey in 1995.

Anaheim Ducks vs. San Jose Sharks Series Home – Schedule, TV Listings, Stats, News

Boston Bruins vs. Toronto Maple Leafs Series Home – Schedule, TV Listings, Stats, News



Partners & Sponsors