Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartans Honored at Annual Hockey Banquet

Jake Hildebrand

April 21, 2014

EAST LANSING - The Michigan State hockey team held its annual banquet on Monday, April 21 at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing. Senior Greg Wolfe earned three honors, claiming the Amo Bessone, Outstanding Offensive Player and Bill Burgess Outstanding Senior Awards. Rem Murray, who ranks seventh on MSU's all-time point list with 218, received the Distinguished Spartan Award.

Hockey Banquet Photo Gallery

Wolfe, who led the team in points (31) and goals (13), garnered honorable mention All-Big Ten accolades in his final season. He finished his career with 89 total points - the most by a Spartan since 2009.

Off the ice, the two-time captain and finance major, demonstrated a commitment to excellence as well, twice earning Academic All-Big Ten accolades.

Sophomore goaltender Jake Hildebrand was named the team's Most Valuable Player. The Butler, Pa., native carried a majority of the load in goal for MSU this season, starting 32 of 36 games. He finished with a .923 save percentage and 2.44 goals-against average. Hildebrand was named one of the Big Ten's Stars of the Week on four occasions throughout the season and allowed two or fewer goals in 21 of his 32 starts.

Jake Chelios was honored with the Dr. John Downs Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award. Chelios consistently ranked as one of leaders in points and assists among conference blueliners and finished with a team-high 19 assists. He earned All-Big Ten honorable mention with a career-high 21 points, which ranked third on the team, and was the only Spartan defenseman to play in all 36 games this past season.

Most Improved Player honors went to sophomore Michael Ferrantino. The sophomore doubled his offensive output from the previous season and was the top point-producing underclassmen, finishing the campaign with nine goals and 11 assists.



Joe Cox was voted the winner of the Outstanding Rookie Award. The freshman appeared in every game and produced six goals and six assists.

Rhett Holland took home the Spartan Fitness Award, while Nickolas Gatt garnered the Blue Line Club President's award as the top scholar-athlete in the senior class. Gatt carries a 3.77 GPA and will graduate with a degree in criminal justice.

For the second straight year, sophomore Ryan Keller took home the Goofus Award as the team humorist.

Murray helped lead Michigan State to three NCAA tournament appearances and 98 total wins in his four years. As a freshman, he produced 51 points as the Spartans compiled a 26-10-8 record and a berth in the Frozen Four. As a sophomore and junior, he again ranked in the top three on the team in points, producing a career-best 57 in 1992-93. As a senior, he led the Spartans with 36 assists and 56 points.

Following his stellar career in East Lansing, Murray went on to play nine years in the National Hockey League where he spent most of his time in Edmonton as an Oiler from 1996-2002 and again in 2005-2006. Murray also played for the New York Rangers and Nashville Predators before heading overseas to play in both Finland and Austria.

2014 Michigan State Hockey Banquet Award Winners

Distinguished Spartan Award - Rem Murray
MVP - Jake Hildebrand
Outstanding Offensive Player Award - Greg Wolfe
Dr. John Downs Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award - Jake Chelios
Bill Burgess Outstanding Senior Award - Greg Wolfe
Amo Bessone Award - Greg Wolfe
(honoring athletic and academic achievement and community participation)
Most Improved Player Award - Mike Ferrantino
Outstanding Rookie Award - Joe Cox
Spartan Fitness Award - Rhett Holland
Blue Line Club President's Award - Nickolas Gatt
(top scholar-athlete in the senior class)
Goofus Award - Ryan Keller
(team humorist)

Partners & Sponsors