Big Ten Announces 2014-15 Hockey Schedule
 
 
 
MSU's first conference series will take place at Ohio State.
 
MSU's first conference series will take place at Ohio State.
 
 

May 22, 2014

EAST LANSING - The Big Ten has announced its conference schedule for the 2014-15 hockey season. Michigan State will meet each team four times as all six schools will play a 20-game schedule with the first weekend of conference action starting in November.

The complete 2014-15 MSU hockey schedule will be released once it has been finalized. Start times and television coverage will also be announced at a later date.

Big Ten Composite Schedule Get Acrobat Reader

The Spartans will begin conference play at Ohio State the weekend of Nov. 20-22. The series will be played Thursday and Friday (Nov. 20-21) or Friday and Saturday (Nov. 21-22).

Like 2013-14, Michigan State will take on Minnesota in its first conference home series. The two teams will meet at Munn Ice Arena Dec. 5-6.

The final 16 games of the Spartans' conference schedule will all be played in 2015. MSU will begin the new calendar year of Big Ten play at Penn State, Jan. 16-17.

The Spartans and Buckeyes will complete their season series the following weekend in East Lansing. MSU and OSU will play one game on Saturday, Jan. 24, while the other contest will be played on either Friday or Sunday.

The first of four meetings with Michigan will take place on consecutive Saturdays at the end of January and then the first week of February. MSU will host the Wolverines Jan. 30 and meet again in Michigan's home game on Feb. 7.

Michigan State will welcome Penn State the weekend of Feb. 13-15. Like the OSU series in January, the Spartans and Nittany Lions will play one game on Saturday, Feb. 14, while the other will take part on either Friday or Sunday.

MSU and Wisconsin will complete their season series in a span of three weekends, beginning Feb. 20-21 when the Spartans visit Madison. The Spartans will then host Wisconsin for a pair of games March 6-7 in East Lansing.

Michigan State will travel to Minnesota on the final weekend of February. The two games against the Gophers will be played Thursday and Friday (Feb. 26-27), Friday and Saturday (Feb. 27-28) or Saturday and Sunday (Feb. 28-March 1).

The Spartans and Wolverines will complete their regular season series with a home-and-home set March 13-14. The two teams will meet in East Lansing on Friday, March 13, and then the following night, March 14, in Ann Arbor.

The 2015 Big Ten Tournament will be held March 19-21 at Joe Louis Arena in Detroit. The tournament features all six teams in a single-elimination format.

DAY DATE OPPONENT
Thursday or Friday   Nov. 20 or 21 at Ohio State *
Friday or Saturday Nov. 21 or 22 at Ohio State *
Friday Dec. 5 Minnesota
Saturday Dec. 6 Minnesota
Friday Jan. 16 at Penn State
Saturday Jan. 17 at Penn State
Friday or Sunday Jan. 23 or 25  Ohio State **
Saturday Jan. 24 Ohio State **
Friday Jan. 30 Michigan
Saturday Feb. 7 at Michigan
Friday or Sunday Feb. 13 or 15 Penn State **
Saturday Feb. 14 Penn State **
Friday Feb. 20 at Wisconsin
Saturday Feb. 21 at Wisconsin
Thurs., Fri. or Sat. Feb. 26, 27 or 28  at Minnesota***
Fri., Sat. or Sun. Feb. 27, 28 or March 1  at Minnesota***
Friday March 6 Wisconsin
Saturday March 7 Wisconsin
Friday March 13 Michigan
Saturday March 14 at Michigan

Big Ten Men's Ice Hockey Tournament (Joe Louis Arena)

Thursday March 19 Quarterfinals
Friday March 20 Semifinals
Saturday March 21 Championship Game
* Series will be played Thursday/Friday or Friday/Saturday.
** One game of this two-game series will be played on Saturday while the other will be played on Friday or Sunday.
*** Series will be played Thursday/Friday, Friday/Saturday or Saturday/Sunday.