Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Six Spartans Honored with Postseason Honors; Hague Named Goalkeeper of the Year

Nov. 3, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Six different Michigan State men’s soccer player were honored when the Big Ten postseason awards were announced by the league on Friday.

Complete All-Big Ten Release

Redshirt-junior goalkeeper Jimmy Hague became the first Spartan to earn Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year honors. He is the fifth different player to earn the honor since it was first awarded in 2013. Former Spartan netminder Reid Friedrichs did earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors in 1996.

“I am happy for Jimmy, but I do think this is a little bit of a team award when you look at the guys that played in front of him. When you look back at the big games, we have had a good defense, but Jimmy has had to come up with some big saves: Indiana at Rutgers, Maryland. He has always had to come up big in big games and that what you ask of an All-Big Ten goalkeeper,” MSU head coach Damon Rensing said.

Hague, a native of Walled Lake, Michigan, has had a stellar season in net for Michigan State, allowing only nine goals in 16 games this year for a 0.54 goals against average. In league contests only, he finished second in save percentage (.871) and GAA (0.46).

The goalkeeper was also one of three Spartans named to the first-team All-Big Ten squad along with senior defender Jimmy Fiscus and senior midfielder Ken Krolicki. All three were named to the second-team last season. Michigan State has had at least one first-team selection every season since 1999.

Krolicki, who hails from Plymouth, Michigan, is a focal point of the MSU midfield, starting all 16 games. Fiscus, a native of Novi, Michigan, is the only position player to have logged in over 1,500 minutes this season. He has one goal and one assist this season and is part of the tough MSU backline that has allowed only nine goals. Fiscus was also MSU’s only unanimous selection.

“It is awesome to have three on the first team. For me, Krolicki and Fiscus they don’t have a lot of stats for them to get recognized, because I do think they are two of the best players in the conference, is a great testament not only for them but also for the team. You don’t always have to have the most goals or the stats to be recognized for your good overall play. They are great defenders; they are good on the ball and are great leaders,” Rensing added.

Junior forwards Ryan Sierakowski and DeJuan Jones both earned second-team honors. Sierakowski was named to the first-team squad last season and to the All-Freshman team his rookie campaign. This is Jones’ first honor.

Sierakowski, a native of McHenry, Illinois, is first on the team in scoring with seven goals and three assists for 17 points. Jones, a product of Lansing, Michigan, is second in scoring with six goals and four assists for 16 points. In league games, Sierakowski and Jones are tied for first with five B1G goals.

Wisconsin’s Christopher Mueller was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Maryland’s Eryk Williamson earned Midfielder of the Year. Indiana’s Grant Lillard captured Defensive Player of the Year with Hague taking Goalkeeper of the Year honors. IU’s Mason Toye was the Freshman of the Year.Michigan’s Chaka Daley was named Coach of the Year.

The Big Ten also recognized nine Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Senior defender Brad Centala earned the Sportsmanship Award for the Spartans.

The third-seeded Spartans take on sixth-seeded Ohio State in the its second-straight Big Ten Tournament game in East Lansing on Sunday, Nov. 5 at 1 p.m. Michigan State is currently 11-2-3 this season and ranked No. 8 in the United Soccer Coaches poll.

2017 Men’s Soccer All-Big Ten Teams

First Team
Forwards: Christopher Mueller, Sr., Wisconsin
Mason Toye, Fr., Indiana
Jack Hallahan, So., Michigan
Midfield: Eryk Williamson, Jr., Maryland
Ken Krolicki, Sr., Michigan State
Jake Rozhansky, Sr., Maryland
Francesco Moore, Jr., Indiana
Andrew Gutman, Jr., Indiana
Goalkeeper: Jimmy Hague, Jr., Michigan State

Second Team
Forwards: Griffin Dorsey, Fr., Indiana
Francis Atuahene, Jr., Michigan
DeJuan Jones, Jr., Michigan State
Ryan Sierakowski, Jr., Michigan State
Midfield: Abdi Mohamed, Jr., Ohio State
Charles Mertz, Jr., Michigan
Mark Segbers, Sr., Wisconsin
Defense: Donovan Pines, So., Maryland
Timmy Mehl, Jr., Indiana
Marcello Borges, Jr., Michigan
Goalkeeper: Trey Muse, Fr., Indiana

Offensive Player of the Year: Christopher Mueller, Wisconsin
Defensive Player of the Year: GRANT LILLARD, INDIANA
Midfielder of the Year: Eryk Williamson, Maryland
Goalkeeper of the Year: Jimmy Hague, Michigan State
Freshman of the Year: MASON TOYE, INDIANA
Coach of the Year: Chaka Daley, Michigan

Trey Muse, Indiana
Tommy Katsyiannis, Northwestern



UNANIMOUS selections listed in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Jack Griffith, Sr., Indiana
Andrew Samuels, Jr., Maryland
Tristan Jacob, Sr., Michigan
Brad Centala, Sr., Michigan State
Francisco Tomasino, Sr., Northwestern
Hunter Robertson, Sr., Ohio State
Dani Marks, Jr., Penn State
Erik Sa, Sr., Rutgers
Isaac Schenkler, Jr., Wisconsin

Partners & Sponsors