Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartans Take Seventh

May 4, 1998

EAST LANSING, Mich. - For the second straight season, the Michigan State men's tennis team finished in seventh place at the Big Ten Championship Meet. The Spartans defeated the seventh-seeded Indiana Hoosiers 4-3 Sunday to lay claim to the conference's seventh position. MSU finishes the year with a 15-14 overall mark and a 6-9 Big Ten record.

The Spartan's meeting with the Hoosiers Sunday was the third match that the two played against each other in 1998. Michigan State defeated Indiana 4-3 February, 1 at the O' Charley's/Vol Classic while the Hoosiers took care of the Spartans during the Big Ten regular season by the same score.

Just like in the two team's previous meetings, the team that wins the doubles point, won the overall match-up. MSU was able to secure the crucial point with victories by juniors Chris Struck and Trey Eubanks in the No. 1 match and the sophomore team of Ivica Primorac and Francisco Trinidad in the No. 3 contest. Struck and Eubanks defeated Gabriel Montilla and Derrick Pope by the score of 8-2, while Primorac and Trinidad downed George McGill and Steve Jordan 8-5.

The two teams split the singles matches. Spartan captain Trey Eubanks secured the No. 1 position with a win over Indiana's top player Gabriel Montilla in straight sets 6-2, 6-4. In what may have been his final contest for the Green and White, senior Benjamin Hetzler downed Andrew Held in the No. 4 match by the score of 6-1, 7-5. The fight for the seventh position in the conference was determined in a match between two Jacobsons, Michigan State's Mark Jacobson versus Indiana's Paul Jacobson, with MSU's Jacobson victorious in a match that went the distance 3-6, 7-6 (6), 6-3.

#7 Indiana vs. #9 Michigan State

1. Trey Eubanks (MSU) d. Gabriel Montilla (IU),     6-2, 6-4 
2. Scott Lippitt (IU) d. Ivica Primorac (MSU),      6-2, 6-1 
3. George McGill (IU) d. Chris Struck (MSU),        6-2, 6-2 
4. Ben Hetzler (MSU) d. Andrew Held (IU),           6-1, 7-5 
5. Ian Arons (IU) d. Francisco Trinidad (MSU),      6-2, 6-3 
6. Mark Jacobson (MSU) d. Paul Jacobson (IU),       3-6, 7-6 (6), 6-3 

Doubles 1. Struck/Eubanks (MSU) d. Pope/Montilla (IU), 8-2 2. Lippitt/Held (IU) d. Kigongo/Hetzler (MSU), 8-0 3. Primorac/Trinidad (MSU) d. McGill/Jordan, 8-5



Partners & Sponsors