MSU Spartans
Rotating image
Men's Tennis Continues Play at Frank Beeman Invite
Junior Clark Richardson claimed the Flight C singles title.
Junior Clark Richardson claimed the Flight C singles title.

Sept. 19, 2009


The men's tennis team wrapped up day two of the Frank Beeman Invite at the MSU Outdoor Tennis Courts Saturday, Sept. 19, which saw three Spartans advance into the singles championship matches, with junior Clark Richardson (Leawood, Kan.) claiming the Flight C singles title.

Richardson posted a win over Leo Henriques of the University of Toledo, 6-0, 6-7(2), 6-4, in the second round, advancing to finals. In the finals, he topped Terence Weigand, also of Toledo, winning Flight C singles crown, 7-5, 6-1.

In Flight A, freshman Denis Bogatov (Gurnee, Ill.) defeated Pat Hamning of Youngstown State, 6-2, 6-2, advancing to the third round. Bogatov then posted a win over Knot Likitkumchorn of Toledo, 6-3, 6-4, to advance to the championship match.

Senior Jason Norville (Farmington Hills, Mich.) posted a, 6-4, 6-2, win over Levi bent-Lee of Toledo in the second round of Flight B, advancing to the third round. Joining Norville in the next round was sophomore Austin Brooks (Houston, Texas) and freshman Will Davis (Louisville, Ky.). Brooks advanced after posting an impressive win over Steve D'Angelo of Youngstown State, 6-0, 6-2, while Davis outlasted Alex Lotosinsky of Detroit, 4-6, 6-3, 6-2.

The next round of Flight B saw teammates Davis and Brooks meet in three-set thriller, which saw Davis outlast Brooks, 4-6, 6-3, 6-2. With the win, Davis will now meet Norville in the Flight B championship.

The day concluded with doubles action, which saw the tandem of Norville and Bogatov put up a fight, but came up just short to Sven Burus and Robbie McCallum of Toledo, 8-6.



MSU will close out the Frank Beeman Invite tomorrow, Sept. 20, at the Michigan State Outdoor Tennis Courts with the final matches of singles play beginning at 9 a.m., followed by the finals doubles matches.

Flight A Singles Second Round
Peotr Necajevs (DM) def. John Stratton: 6-4, 6-2
Denis Bogatov def. Pat Hamning (YSU): 6-2, 6-2
Knot Likitkumchorn (UT) def. Brendan Kinkopf: 4-6, 6-4, 6-0

Flight A Singles Third Round
Denis Bogatov def. Knot Likitkumchorn (UT): 6-3, 6-4

Flight B Singles Second Round
Levi Bent-Lee (UT) def. Ronnie Hulewicz: 4-6, 6-1, 7-6(6)
Jason Norville def. Bryon Wowchuk (WSU): 6-0, 6-0
Austin Brooks def. Steve D'Angelo (YSU): 6-0, 6-2
Will Davis def. Alex Lotosinsky (DM): 4-6, 6-3, 6-2

Flight B Singles Third Round
Jason Norville def. Levi Bent-Lee (UT): 6-4, 6-2
Will Davis def. Austin Brooks: 4-6, 6-3, 6-2

Flight C Singles Second Round
Clark Richardson def. Leo Henriques (UT): 6-0, 6-7(2), 6-4
Terence Weigand (UT) def. Christian Roehmer: 6-4, 6-2

Flight C Singles Finals
Clark Richardson def. Terence Weigand(UT): 7-5, 6-1

Flight A Doubles Third Round
Burus/McCallum(UT) def. Bogatov/Norville: 8-6
Necajevs/Cheung def. Brooks/Stratton: 8-5


at the official
Online Store