Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

ITA All-American Championships Update: Monday

John Patrick Mullane won his first-round match in singles pre-qualifying at the ITA All-American Championships.

Sept. 30, 2013

Complete Results

TULSA, Okla. - The 2013-14 season is officially underway for the Michigan State men's tennis team as four Spartans are competing at the ITA All-American Championships, which began Saturday. The event is being held at Tulsa's Michael D. Case Tennis Center.

In the first round of singles qualifying, Aaron Pfister fell to Austin Smith of Georgia, 7-5, 6-2, on Monday.

In the first round of singles pre-qualifying, John Patrick Mullane won his opening match over Fernando Sala-Sanchez of Clemson, 6-1, 4-6, 6-3, on Saturday before falling to Dusty Boyer of Nebraska in the second round, 4-6, 6-3, 6-4, on Sunday. In Gijs Linders' first-round match of singles pre-qualifying, he dropped a 7-5, 6-3 decision to Oystein Steiro of North Carolina. In a bonus match of singles pre-qualifying, Linders' topped Northwestern's Alex Pasareanu, 6-4, 6-7 (3), 6-4.

In doubles qualifying, Linders and Pfister will take on Ryan Cheung and Jonathan Hammel of UC Irvine at 10:30 a.m. ET Tuesday, while Drew Lied and Mullane will face the winner of Stanford's Maciek Romanowicz and Robert Stineman and Texas' Jacoby Lewis and Sudanwa Sitaram at 12:30 p.m. ET.

Lied also qualified for the main single draw, which will begin Thursday, Oct. 3 and run through Sunday, Oct. 6. Lied competed at the ITA/USTA National Summer Championships in August and received an automatic bid to the ITA All-American main draw after defeating Chris Diaz from Ohio State in the championship match. The Brookfield, Wis., native is coming off a junior season in which he tallied 16 wins overall, including 12 in Big Ten play. He competed at the No. 2 singles position last year and also was named a second-team All-Big Ten selection.



The ITA All-American Championships features a number of the top players from around the country. The top 32 players, based off of last year's rankings, receive an invitation to compete.

For complete results, visit

Partners & Sponsors