Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three Spartans Recognized at Big Ten Banquet

Junior Aaron Pfister has earned 13 singles victories for the Spartans this dual season.

April 25, 2013

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Michigan State men's tennis team had three individuals recognized by the Big Ten on Thursday, April 25, as the conference announced its postseason honors for the 2013 season. Junior Aaron Pfister, a native of Grand Blanc, Mich., earned his second First-Team All-Big Ten nomination, while junior Drew Lied from Brookfield, Wis., took home a second-team honors. Senior Denis Bogatov, a Gurnee, Ill., native, represented the Spartans as a Sportsmanship Honoree.

Pfister was one of 13 athletes nominated to the first-team, marking the second consecutive year he has been selected. Pfister is the first Spartan to earn back-to-back nominations since Nick Rinks did in 2006 and 2007.

Pfister has led the Spartans in the No. 1 position all season, posting 13 singles victories throughout the dual season and 17 overall. The junior compiled a 6-5 record in conference play. He had added an additional nine victories in doubles play throughout the lineup.

The 2011 Big Ten Indoor Champion has now won 75 career singles matches and earned 28 victories in doubles play.

Drew Lied earns his first postseason award after finishing the season with 15 singles victories and a 7-4 mark in conference play. He is one of five athletes to be named to the second-team. His 11 victories on court two are the third most on the team at any position. He has partnered with freshman JP Mullane to form the most successful Spartan duo, posting 10 wins together and a 7-2 Big Ten record.

Denis Boagtov will take home his second consecutive Sportsmanship Honoree award after receiving the same nomination last season. The Big Ten chooses one player from each of the 12 Big Ten teams who has exemplified good sportsmanship throughout the season.



Playing throughout the lineup, Bogatov has earned 13 victories in singles play and eight in doubles action. The senior has amassed 75 career singles wins and 62 in doubles competition.


First-Team All-Big Ten*


Josh MacTaggart, Indiana

Sam Monette, Indiana

EVAN KING, Michigan

Aaron Pfister, Michigan State

ROK BONIN, Minnesota

Leandro Toledo, Minnesota

Raleigh Smith, Northwestern

Spencer Wolf, Northwestern


Devin McCarthy, Ohio State

BLAZ ROLA, Ohio State

Connor Smith, Ohio State

Second-Team All-Big Ten

Tim Kopinski, Illinois

Barrett Franks, Michigan

Drew Lied, Michigan State

Chris Diaz, Ohio State

Szymon Tatarczyk, Purdue

Unanimous selections in CAPS * Additional honorees due to a tie INDIVIDUAL AWARDS

Athlete of the Year: Evan King, Michigan

Freshman of the Year: Jared Hiltzik, Illinois

Coach of the Year: Ty Tucker, Ohio State


Bruno Abdelnoor, Illinois

Chris Essick, Indiana

Jonas Dierckx, Iowa

Alex Petrone, Michigan

Denis Bogatov, Michigan State

Jack Hamburg, Minnesota

Marc Herrmann, Nebraska

Chris Jackman, Northwestern

Blaz Rola, Ohio State

CJ Griffin, Penn State

Krisztian Krocsko, Purdue

Petr Satral, Wisconsin

Partners & Sponsors