Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Mar. 24, 1997

Morgan, Picklo Earn All-American Honors

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa - The Michigan State University wrestling team closed out its season last weekend at the NCAA Championships, in Cedar Falls, Iowa. The Spartan trio of 118-pounder David Morgan (Jr., Ferndale), 177-pounder Erich Harvey (Sr., Allegan), and 190-pounder Brian Picklo (Sr., Saginaw) accumulated 25 team points to finish 21st, while Morgan and Picklo each finished fifth to earn All-America honors.

At 118 pounds, Morgan, a 1996 All-America, began his title quest with a 2-1 victory over Cody Sanderson of Iowa State in the first round. He then defeated Derrick Henson of Howard, 11-5, before falling 6-4 in the third round to eventual national champion Jessie Whitmer of Iowa. Morgan bounced back with a 9-5 win over Michigan's Chris Viola and a pin of Rider's John Carvalheria, before losing 5-2 to Sheldon Thomas of Clarion. Morgan then moved on to the fifth-place match, where he downed Shane Valdez of Oklahoma, 9-3 to capture All-America honors for the second consecutive season. Morgan finishes the season with a 41-6 record, with nine pins, tying him for the third best victory total in MSU history. He also holds the single-season victories record, with 44.

At 177, Harvey, wrestling in his fourth straight NCAA Championship, started the tournament with a 4-2 loss to Ryan Edmundson of Hofstra, then came back to defeat Bret Ruth of American University, 10-2. Harvey followed that match with a 6-5 victory over Aaron Simpson of Arizona State, an 8-3 win over Bryan Matusic of Pitt, and a 4-3 defeat of Rider's Leo Geil. After four straight victories, Harvey suffered a 6-5 defeat at the hands of Grant Johnson of Boston University, narrowly missing All-America honors. Harvey ends the season with a 37-8 mark, including 14 falls, pushing his career-record victory total to 147.

In the 190-pound bracket, Picklo came away with a 2-1 victory over Tony Weiland of Northern Iowa in the first round, before losing 4-3 to Scott Stay of North Carolina in the second round. Picklo then scored a 20-7 victory over Keno Brown of Coppin State, and a 9-7 win over Landon Jackson of Georgia State. He then recorded a pair of 7-3 victories, defeating Rob Neidlinger of Penn State and Jeremy Goeden of Northern Illinois to move on to the consolation semi finals. In the semi finals, Picklo was pinned by Minnesota's Tim Hartung, sending him to the fifth-place match. There, he won by injury default over Jason Robison of Edinboro, earning All-America accolades for the second straight season. Picklo also finished the year with 41 victories, against eight losses, tying him with Morgan for third on the season-victories list.

Other wrestlers winning individual championships were: at 118, Jessie Whitmer of Iowa; 126, Eric Guerrero, Oklahoma St.; 134, Mark Ironside, Iowa; 142, Cary Kolat, Lock Haven; 150, Lincoln McIlravy, Iowa; 158, Joe Williams, Iowa; 167, Mark Branch, Oklahoma St.; 177, Barry Weldon, Iowa St.; 190, Lee Fullhart, Iowa; and HWT, Kerry McCoy, Penn State.

Partners & Sponsors