MSU Spartans
Rotating image
MSU Wrestling Loses at No. 4 Minnesota, 32-6
Sophomore Brandon Fifield won a sudden victory decision at 133 pounds.
Sophomore Brandon Fifield won a sudden victory decision at 133 pounds.

Feb. 3, 2013

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. - Michigan State wrestling lost to No. 4 Minnesota, 32-6, on Sunday afternoon on senior day for the Golden Gophers at the Sports Pavilion. The dual started with 133-pound sophomore Brandon Fifield taking Minnesota's Randy Hanson into overtime after they ended regulation tied at 5. Fifield won by sudden victory, putting MSU on the board first, 3-0.

The Gophers were quick to respond, however, and at 141 pounds No. 10 Nick Dardanes won a major decision over freshman Nick Trimble, giving Minnesota a 4-3 lead.

Dan Osterman gave up a last-second takedown and major decision at 149 pounds to No. 11 Dylan Ness, 17-6.

Sophomore Ryan Watts battled with redshirt freshman Danny Zilverberg through three periods at 157 pounds, earning a takedown in the last seconds of the match to secure a 7-6 decision.

No. 14 Cody Yohn of Minnesota pinned Nick Proctor in 1:24, giving the Gophers a 14-6 lead at intermission.

The Gophers then went up 26-6 over the Spartans when they took major decisions at 174, 184 and 197 pounds, respectively.

Minnesota logged an additional two decisions at 285 and 125 pounds, taking the dual 32-6.

The Spartans are back in action Sunday, Feb. 10 when they take on Michigan at 2 p.m. at Jenison Field House.

No. 4 Minnesota 32, Michigan State 6
133 - Brandon Fifield (MSU) dec. Randy Hanson (MINN), SV 7-5; MSU leads 3-0
141 - No. 10 Nick Dardanes (MINN) major dec. Nick Trimble (MSU), 18-6; MINN leads 4-3
149 - No. 11 Dylan Ness (MINN) major dec. Dan Osterman (MSU), 17-6; MINN leads 8-3
157 - Ryan Watts (MSU) dec. Danny Zilverberg (MINN), 7-6; MINN leads 8-6
165 - No. 14 Cody Yohn (MINN) fall Nick Proctor (MSU), 1:24; MINN leads 14-6
174 - No. 2 Logan Storley (MINN) major dec. Jordan Wohlfert (MSU), 13-4; MINN leads 18-6
184 - No. 5 Kevin Steinhaus (MINN) major dec. John Rizqallah (MSU), 15-2; MINN 22-6
197 - No. 11 Scott Schiller (MINN) major dec. Luke Jones (MSU), 11-3; MINN leads 26-6
285 - No. 2 Tony Nelson (MINN) dec. #7 Mike McClure (MSU), 4-0; MINN leads 29-6
125 - Corey Hodowanic (MINN) dec. Brenan Lyon (MSU), 2-1; MINN wins 32-6




at the official
Online Store