Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartan Wrestling Trio Pre-Seeded For Big Ten Championships

Feb. 26, 2018

Big Ten Championships Central | Big Ten release

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Three Michigan State wrestlers earned pre-seeds for the upcoming 2018 Big Ten Wrestling Championships, which are set for March 3-4 at the friendly confines of the Breslin Center in East Lansing. The pre-seeds were announced Monday by the conference office.

The pre-seeds, as voted on by the conference’s coaches, rank the top eight wrestlers in seven weight classes along with all 14 starters in three weight classes due to the Big Ten receiving nine or more NCAA Championships qualifier allocations in those classes.

Freshman Rayvon Foley (Ann Arbor, Mich./Pioneer) is the highest ranked Spartan at No. 7 in the 125 pound weight class. Foley leads the Spartans in wins, boasting a 25-7 record. Foley’s 13-4 dual record is a team-best, as well as his 46 dual points. Foley’s 7-1 win over No. 13 Luke Welch (Purdue) on Feb. 2 and 10-3 defeat over No. 9 Drew Mattin (Michigan) on Feb. 9 propelled him into the national rankings at No. 17 according to InterMat, and the Spartan ended the regular season on a five-dual win streak.

Redshirt freshman Jwan Britton (Muskegon, Mich./Whitehall) is No. 13 at 149 pounds. Britton finished his first season in the starting lineup with a 10-11 record, highlighted by his first dual win against Southern Illinois Edwardsville on Dec. 29. Britton’s first Big Ten dual win was a major decision over Davey Tunon (Indiana) on Jan. 19, as Britton is tied for second on the team in major decisions with three in total. Britton also finished third at both the Eastern Michigan Open and Cleveland state Open, posting an 8-4 tournament record.

Redshirt freshman Austin Hiles (Brecksville, Ohio/Brecksville) is seeded No. 12 in the 165 pound bracket. Hiles completed his first season as a starter with a 6-10 dual record, highlighted by two wins over ranked opponents. Hiles earned a win in his first career dual, knocking off No. 14 CJ Brucki (No. 17 Central Michigan) with a buzzer-beater takedown on Nov. 17. Hiles also recorded a shutout win over Dillon Hoey (Indiana) and took down No. 13 Te’Shan Campbell (No. 2 Ohio State) on Jan. 26, leading 4-2 before Campbell was disqualified.

The Big Ten Championships begin with Session I on Saturday, March 3 at 10 a.m. (BTN Plus) followed by Session II at 6 p.m. (BTN Plus.) Session III commences on Sunday at 12 p.m. (BTN Plus) and Session IV, which starts at 3 p.m., will be televised on Big Ten Network. Single session tickets are still available on



Partners & Sponsors