Allyssa DeHaan Named to Naismith Trophy Midseason List

Jan. 29, 2008

Complete Naismith Trophy Midseason List

ATLANTA - Michigan State sophomore center Allyssa DeHaan is one of 31 candidates on the Naismith Trophy midseason list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Tuesday afternoon. DeHaan, one of 50 preseason candidates for the award, is among the Big Ten leaders in several categories, including blocked shots, and leads the team in scoring (15.1 ppg), rebounding (8.0) and free-throw shooting (85 percent).

The women's list, which includes 31 candidates because of a tie, was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season, and the list was narrowed down from the preseason list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season.

DeHaan set a Big Ten and NCAA Divison I freshman record last season with 145 blocked shots. She is currently second in the country with 93 blocked shots (4.2 pg). A preseason All-Big Ten selection, she was named second-team All-Big Ten last season and was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year after averaging 12.5 ppg and 7.5 rpg. MSU's all-time leader in blocked shots with 236, DeHaan is also on national player of the year watch lists for the Wade Trophy and the Wooden Award.

DeHaan is tied for fourth in the Big Ten with five double-doubles and has scored in double-figures 16 times. She has four games with 20-plus points, which ranks tied for sixth best in the league. DeHaan poured in a season-high 27 points at Wisconsin Jan. 2, the second-highest total of her career (career-high: 28 points vs. Rhode Island on Nov. 29, 2006).

Again this year AT&T will give fans an unprecedented voice in selecting the winner. Fan voting, through the power and ease of text messaging, will account for 25 percent of the selection process. This program sets the standard in college athletics for integrating fans into the voting process and providing them with more input than with any other major collegiate sports award.



Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until April 5. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. The Women's Naismith Trophy winner will be announced April 7 at the 2008 NCAA Final Four in Tampa.

For more information on the Naismith Trophy, visit

Michigan State returns to action to face Michigan this Thursday, Jan. 31 in the Breslin Center at 7 p.m.