Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Tori Jankoska Added to 2016-17 Wade Watch List

Feb. 6, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State senior guard Tori Jankoska has been added to the Wade Watch List by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) on Monday. She is one of 35 student-athletes named to the list.

Complete Wade Trophy Watch List

Jankoska is one of 10 players added to the preseason list of 25 Wade Watch List honorees. Joining Jankoska on the list 10 hopefuls added are: Monique Billings of UCLA, Lexie Brown of Duke, Tyra Buss of Indiana, Napheesa Collier of Connecticut, Asia Durr of Louisville, Chantel Osahor of Washington, Brittney Sykes of Syracuse and Katie Lou Samuelson and Gabby Williams of Connecticut.

The Freeland, Michigan native, is one of seven players from the Big Ten represented on the Wade Watch List, along with Indiana’s Tyra Buss, Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell, Maryland’s Brionna Jones and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Michigan’s Katelynn Flaherty and Northwestern’s Nia Coffey. Four other Spartan opponents made the list in Notre Dame’s Lindsay Allen and Brianna Turner, as well as Syracuse’s Alexis Peterson and Brittney Sykes.

Jankoska is second in the Big Ten in scoring, averaging 21.6 points per game. This season, she passed Aerial Powers and became MSU’s all-time leading scorer. She now has scored 1,962 points in the Spartans’ uniform. She is looking to become the first Michigan State player to scored 2,000 points and is just 38 points away.

She is fifth in the league in assists, averaging 5.2 apg. The senior guard is first in the Big Ten in free throw percentage (90.2) and tied for first in 3-pointers made (3.4).

The Wade Trophy — now in its 40th year — is the oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award in college women’s basketball. It is named in honor of the late, legendary Delta State University head coach Lily Margaret Wade, who won three consecutive national championships with the Lady Statesmen. First awarded in 1978 by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD), now known as SHAPE America, the Wade Trophy has been presented to the WBCA NCAA Division I National Player of the Year since 2001.

The Wade Watch List will be trimmed to four finalists in March. The WBCA will officially announce the winner of the Wade Trophy during the 2017 WBCA Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA® Women’s Final Four® in Dallas.

Jankoska and the Spartans are back in action at Iowa on Thursday, Feb. 9 at 7 p.m. on the Big Ten Network.



Partners & Sponsors