Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Tori Jankoska Named WBCA Honorable Mention All-American

April 1, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State women’s basketball senior guard Tori Jankoska added to her postseason accolades, earning Women’s Basketball Coaches Association honorable mention All-America honors, announced by the WBCA at the Final Four on Saturday.

Complete WBCA All-America List

Jankoska’s honor is the ninth WBCA All-America accolade in program history. The current Spartan joins Kisha Kelley (1994-85), Lindsay Bowen (2004-05), Kristin Haynie (2004-05), Liz Shimek (2004-05, 2005-06), Kalisha Keane (2010-11) and Aerial Powers (2014-15, 2015-16), who earned honorable mention WBCA recognition twice. Overall, seven different players have earned WBCA All-American honors.

Jankoska, a Freeland, Michigan, native is one of eight players from the Big Ten Conference on the All-America list. Ohio State’s Kelsey Mitchell was named to the All-American list while, Tyra Buss (Indiana), Nia Coffey (Northwestern), Katelynn Flaherty (Michigan), Brionna Jones (Maryland), Teniya Page (Penn State) and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough (Maryland) joined Jankoska on the honorable mention squad.

The Spartan guard had a stellar senior campaign, becoming the MSU career scoring leader and the first Spartan women’s basketball player to eclipse the 2,000-point mark, ending her career with 2,212 points. She also broke the Michigan State single-season scoring record with 746 points this season , which currently ranks second in the Big Ten. Jankoska broke Powers single-season record, averaging 22.6 ppg.

Jankoska also became Michigan State’s all-time leader in 3-pointers made with 320 and free throws made with 478. She was also second in career assists with 489. A sharp-shooter from beyond the arc, she also broke the MSU single-season record for treys with 122. The senior also had the only triple-double in the Big Ten this season when she scored 24 points, 10 rebounds and 10 assists in a win against Minnesota on Feb. 16. It was just the third triple-double in women’s basketball history and the first since Kristin Haynie in 2005.

Kelsey Plum of the University of Washington was the winner of the 2017 Wade Trophy.

About the WBCA
Founded in 1981, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association is the professional association for coaches of women’s and girls’ basketball at all levels of competition. The WBCA offers educational resources that coaches need to help make themselves better leaders, teachers and mentors to their players; provides opportunities for coaches to connect with peers in the profession; serves as the unifying voice of a diverse community of coaches to the organizations that control the game; and celebrates those coaches, players and other individuals who excel each year and contribute to the advancement of the sport. Visit for more details about the Association.



Partners & Sponsors