Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartan Women's Basketball Hands Out Annual Awards

April 10, 2001

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Michigan State women's basketball team handed out its annual awards on Tuesday night (April 10) at the Kellogg Center on the campus of Michigan State University.

Freshman forward Julie Pagel (Utica, Mich.) was selected as the team's Player of the Year. Pagel led MSU in scoring (11.2 ppg), rebounding (7.8 rpg) and steals (1.9 spg) in 28 games. The 7.8 rebounds per game ranked third in the Big Ten. She posted 15 games in double figures, including a career-high 23 points vs. Indiana (Feb. 11). Pagel was voted to the All-Big Ten honorable mention squad by the media. In addition, Pagel picked up the team's Best Rebounder Award and the M.M.O.C. Award.

Senior guard Christie Pung (Pewamo, Mich.) also was a multiple-award winner for the Spartans. Pung earned the team's Senior Award along with the Playmaker Award. Pung played in all 28 games this past season, averaging 5.4 points and 2.3 assists. She had a season-high 15 points, including a 5-for-9 effort from the three-point line, in the regular-season finale vs. Minnesota (Feb. 25). Pung closed her career sixth on MSU's all-time three-point chart with 42.

Senior guard Donita Johnson (Clinton Township, Mich.) earned the Best Defensive Player Award, while senior center Erin Skelly (Maple Grove, Minn.) was selected as the Most Improved Player. Johnson finished third on the squad in rebounding with 109 boards and tied for third in blocked shots with 10. Meanwhile, Skelly led MSU with 41 blocked shots and finished second in rebounding (5.1 rpg). Skelly posted her first career double-double with 18 points and 10 rebounds vs. Chicago State (Nov. 26).

Sophomore center Jennifer Callier (Indianapolis, Ind.) earned MSU's Sixth Player Award. Callier appeared in 27 games, averaging 4.2 points and 3.7 rebounds. She finished second on the squad with 14 blocked shots.

Junior forward Abby Salscheider (Bluffton, Ind.) was the "CNC" Scholar-Athlete Award recipient. Salscheider, who was one of five Spartans named to the All-Big Ten Academic Women's Basketball squad, carries a 3.78 grade-point average in kinesiology.

Sophomore forward Maria Recker (Auburn, Ind.) earned the Coaches Award. Recker played in 22 contests, averaging 12.4 minutes per game. She totalled 87 points, 26 rebounds and 15 assists.

Michigan State finished the season with a 10-18 overall mark and a 4-12 record in Big Ten play. The Spartans finished first in the Big Ten in scoring defense (60.2 ppg), first in field goal percentage defense (.387) and first in rebound defense (32.6 avg.).

2000-01 Michigan State Women's Basketball Award Winners
Sixth Player Award: Jennifer Callier
"CNC" Scholar-Athlete Award: Abby Salscheider
Senior Award: Christie Pung
Best Rebounder Award: Julie Pagel
Best Defensive Player Award: Donita Johnson
Playmaker Award: Christie Pung
Most Improved Player: Erin Skelly
M.M.O.C. Award: Julie Pagel
Coaches Award: Maria Recker
Player of the Year Award: Julie Pagel



Partners & Sponsors