Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Spartan Women’s Basketball to Play Miami in 2017 Big Ten/ACC Challenge

June 28, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The matchups for the 2017 Big Ten/ACC Women’s Basketball Challenge were announced on Wednesday morning in a joint release by the two conferences. In the 11th year of the event, Michigan State women’s basketball will travel to Miami on Thursday, Nov. 30 at the Watsco Center.

The ACC captured last year’s Challenge title by a 9-5 count after the Big Ten and ACC played to 7-7 ties during the previous two seasons (2014 and 2015). Last season, Maryland, Michigan, Northwestern, Penn State and Purdue registered wins for the Big Ten. Michigan State lost to Syracuse in the Carrier Dome last season, 75-64.

The Spartans and the Hurricanes last met in the Big Ten/ACC Challenge in 2011 in East Lansing with Miami winning 76-60. Overall, the series between the teams is tied at 2-2. Michigan State is 1-1 against the Hurricanes in Coral Gables with a loss in the inaugural meeting in 1984 and a win in 1990. MSU also defeated Miami in East Lansing in 1986.

Michigan State is 5-5 all-time in the Challenge. MSU won its inaugural contest, 68-51, over Clemson at the Breslin Center in 2007, before a 2008 loss to Georgia Tech. In 2009, Michigan State upset No. 4 North Carolina, 72-66, in East Lansing, and followed it up with a come-from-behind upset at No. 15 Florida State, 72-64, in 2010. In 2011, MSU lost to No. 9 Miami, 76-60, at the Breslin Center, but bounced back to win at NC State, 68-51, in 2012. In 2013, the Spartans remained on the road but lost to Florida State, 60-58.

In 2014, Michigan State came-from-behind to capture a 79-73 overtime win against Georgia Tech on Dec. 4. In 2015, Louisville came out fast and despite a second-half comeback by MSU, the Cardinals captured the win, 85-78. Last season, the Spartans traveled to No. 21 Syracuse, falling to the Orange in the Carrier Dome, 75-64.

The Spartans finished the 2016-17 season with a 21-12 record, including going 9-7 in Big Ten action. Michigan State advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the 13th time in the last 15 seasons. MSU said goodbye to all-time leading scorer and All-American Tori Jankoska. All-Big Ten honorees Branndais Agee, Taryn McCutcheon and Taya Reimer all return for the Spartans for the 2017-18 season.

Game times, as well as television and broadband coverage, will be announced at a later date.

Wednesday, Nov. 29
Notre Dame at Michigan
Wisconsin at Pittsburgh
Florida State at Iowa
Maryland at Virginia
Minnesota at North Carolina

Thursday, Nov. 30
Wake Forest at Penn State
Purdue at Georgia Tech
Northwestern at Syracuse
Louisville at Indiana
Virginia Tech at Illinois
Michigan State at Miami
Ohio State at Duke
Clemson at Nebraska
NC State at Rutgers



Partners & Sponsors