Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Agee Named to Inaugural Cheryl Miller Award Watch List

Nov. 8, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State redshirt-senior Branndais Agee was named to the watch list for the inaugural Cheryl Miller Award, which will be awarded to the top small forward women’s basketball; it was announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association on Wednesday.

She is one of five players from the Big Ten to be named to the watch list along with Indiana’s Amanda Cahill, Maryland’s Brianna Fraser, Ohio State’s Stephanie Mavunga and Wisconsin’s Cayla McMorris. Agee has already garnered preseason All-Big Ten honors by the coaches.

Last season, Agee earned honorable mention All-Big Ten honors along with fellow senior Taya Reimer and sophomore Taryn McCutcheon. During the 2016-17 season, Agee was second on the team in scoring and rebounding with 10.0 points and 6.6 rebounds per game.

The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Cheryl Miller Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at

The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award.

2018 Cheryl Miller Award Candidates
Hannah Cook, Alabama
Gabby Williams, Connecticut
Shakayla Thomas, Florida State
Jill Barta, Gonzaga
Amanda Cahill, Indiana
Bridget Carleton, Iowa State
Raigyne Louis, LSU
Erika Davenport, Marquette
Brianna Fraser, Maryland
Branndais Agee, Michigan State
Sophie Cunningham, Missouri
Liza Fruendt, Missouri State
Stephanie Mavunga, Ohio State
Maddie Manning, Oklahoma
Maria Jespersen, South Florida
Jaime Nared, Tennessee
Ariel Atkins, Texas
Kennedy Burke, UCLA
Teana Muldrow, West Virginia
Cayla McMorris, Wisconsin



Partners & Sponsors