Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Higgins Earns CRCA All-Region Kudos

June 7, 2017

Michigan State senior Brianna Higgins (Lowell, Mich.) has been named a Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-Region Selection, as announced on Monday.

These awards recognize the outstanding performances of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions, organized into first and second-team selections. Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team’s regional finish, coach’s recommendation, and 2,000-meter erg score. Nominees must be eligible student-athletes who have competed in their teams’ varsity eight boat in 75 percent of races this season.

Of the 21 Region Four selections, 17 hail from the Big Ten Conference.

Higgins was a three-year mainstay in the Spartan varsity eight, twice competing at the prestigious Head of the Charles, finishing 10th in 2015 and 15th in 2016. She helped the Spartans earned Big Ten Boat of the Week honors this spring after a strong weekend of racing on the Charles River in Boston , where MSU posted victories over New England crews No. 16 Radcliffe, Northeastern, UMass, and Boston College. Higgins was a First Team All-Big Ten selection as a senior.

Higgins excels in the classroom as well – she is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and has been named a CRCA National Scholar Athlete.

Complete List of CRCA All-Region Selections

CRCA Region Four Selections:
First Team:

Lauran Aiello, University of Central Florida
Emily Barber, Indiana University
Kendall Brewer, University of Michigan
Jennifer Casson, University of Tulsa
Rachel Engel, Ohio State University
Emily Fekete, Indiana University
Antonia Frappell, Indiana University
Morgan Grastorf, University of Iowa
Brianna Higgins, Michigan State University
Ida Kruse, Ohio State University
Maria Schmid, University of Wisconsin
Stephanie Williams, Ohio State University
Kate Wright, University of Michigan



Second Team:
Aina Cid Centelles, Ohio State University
Allie Eaton, Indiana University
Louisa Freeman, University of Michigan
Cristy Hartman, University of Iowa
Sarah Johanek, Rutgers University
Kalia Krichko, University of Michigan
Savannah Moody, Southern Methodist University
Maddie Wanamaker, University of Wisconsin

Partners & Sponsors