Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Field Hockey Honored at Team Banquet

April 7, 2014


The Michigan State field hockey program held its annual end-of-the-year banquet on Saturday, April 5 to celebrate the 2013 season. Members of the team were recognized for their accomplishments both on the field and in the classroom.

"This year's banquet was a wonderful celebration from an outstanding 2013 season," said head coach Helen Knull. "We were able to relive and celebrate the 2013 Big Ten Tournament crown and our NCAA Tournament run,  as well as our other season successes."

Knull led the Spartans to a 14-10 record on top of a Big Ten Tournament Championship and NCAA Tournament Elite Eight appearance in her third year as head coach.  She was named the 2013 4U Field Hockey / NFHCA West Region Coach of the Year.

Academic awards were handed out from both the Big Ten and the NFHCA. Nine Spartans received Academic All-Big Ten honors (Allie Ahern, Abby Barker, Molly Cassidy, Michelle Graham, Katherine Jamieson, Adelle Lever, Mallory McDonagh, Becky Stiles, and Mallory Tyler), while 13 players were recognized for being named to the 2013 Gladiator by SGI / NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad (Caitlin Abbott, Jessica Albers, Abby Barker, Lauren Bonness, Adrea Donaldson, Megan Fenton, Michelle Graham, Kristen Henn, Katherine Jamieson, Adelle Lever, Kristin Matula, Shelby Supica, and Mallory Tyler).



Abby Barker was recognized for her Third Team All-American Selection, First Team All-West Region Selection and First Team All-Big Ten honors. Kristen Henn and Becky Stiles joined Barker on the All-West Region Team, while Stiles, Katherine Jamieson and Molly Cassidy were honored for being Second Team All-Big Ten Selections as well.

The following were team awards handed out that were voted on by members of the team:

Player of the Year - Kristen Henn

Defensive Player of the Year - Kristen Henn

Offensive Player of the Year - Abby Barker

Rookie of the Year - Kristin Matula

Most Improved Players - Claire Johnson and Adrea Donaldson

Spirit Award Winner - Lauren Bonness

Also recognized were seniors Adelle Lever, Moly Cassidy, Kristen Henn, Katherine Jamieson & Mallory McDonagh for their contributions to the field hockey program  during their time at Michigan State.

"It is always a bittersweet moment as we say our final goodbyes to the senior class," said Knull. "We were very fortunate to have had these five young ladies lead the program, not only on the field, but also in the classroom. Their passion, commitment and dedication will be missed and I look forward to seeing what the future has in store for them."

Partners & Sponsors