Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Four Spartans Recognized by the Big Ten Conference

Nov. 1, 2012

CHICAGO, Ill. - Three Michigan State field hockey players were named to the All-Big Ten teams, announced by the Big Ten on Thursday, Nov. 1.  Sophomore forward Abby Barker (Columbus, Ohio) was named First Team All-Big Ten and to the Big Ten All-Tournament Team.  Junior back Kristen Henn (Prospect, Ky.) and sophomore midfielder Becky Stiles (Medford, N.J.) were named Second Team All-Big Ten, and senior back Corey Block (Chelsea, Mich.) was named as MSU's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree. 

Barker started all 19 games this season and scored 17 goals for the Spartans, while also notching three assists (37 points).  Barker recorded two goals in games against Maine, Louisville, Indiana, Michigan, and Central Michigan and was the lone scorer in five games this season for MSU.  Barker recorded a season high of five points in the win against Indiana, assisting on one goal and scoring twice in the 3-0 win.

Henn, a team co-captain, scored the game-winning goal against Miami (Ohio), 1-0.  The backfield starter had a season high of three shots in the matchup against Kent State.  

Earlier this season, Stiles was chosen for the United States Pan American U21 Squad and represented Michigan State in Guadalajara, Mexico.  Despite missing five games on the Spartan lineup, Stiles made an impact on the team in the 14 games she started.  The midfielder netted the game-winning goal in the matchup against Kent State as well as assisted on Barker's goal.

Henn and Stiles contributed to a defense which ranked No. 5 in the Big Ten, allowing 33 goals per game over the course of the season.  

Block was recognized as a Sportsmanship Award honoree as she distinguished herself through sportsmanship and ethical behavior.  Block also remained in good academic standing and demonstrated good citizenship off the field. 

Big Ten All-Tournament Team
Abby Barker, Michigan State
Charlotte Martin, Northwestern
Arielle Cowie, Ohio State
Jessica Barnett, Iowa
Karli Johansen, Iowa
Viki Green, Indiana
Mariella Grote, Indiana
Haley Jones, Michigan
Rachael Mack, Michigan
Ayla Halus, Penn State
Laura Gebhart, Penn State
Big Ten Tournament MVP
Kelsey Amy, Penn State



Partners & Sponsors