Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Vagnoni and Anderson Earn All-Big Ten Honors

Nov. 1, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Michigan State field hockey seniors Simone Vagnoni and Kendal Anderson have earned All-Big Ten team honors, as announced by the conference on Wednesday.

Vagnoni received First-Team honors, her second straight. A Collegeville, Pa. native, Vagnoni started all 19 games as an integral part and main ball-handler on the Spartan backline. The senior captain ended the season second on the team with six goals, adding two assists for 14 points.

Vagnoni was also named as an alternate for the Victory Sports Tours/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Division I Senior Game set for Nov. 17.

This marks Anderson's second consecutive Second-Team honor. The Shaker Heights, Ohio native led the Green and White in goals with nine while also collecting a team-leading 25 shots on goal and 20 points. The senior's nine goals is good for 10th in the Big Ten.

"This is a well-deserved honor for both Simone and Kendal," said head coach Helen Knull. "This is the second straight year they have been awarded All-Big Ten honors and it shows the impact they have not only at MSU, but within the conference. This is a great accomplishment to cap off their careers as Spartans."

MSU's Sportsmanship Award honoree was senior goalkeeper Katie Miller. The students chosen for this award are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. 

"Katie consistently shows passion, respect for others and a healthy, competitive drive in practice and against opponents. As one of our two captains this season, she represented the Spartans with class. There is no one more deserving of this honor," said Knull on Miller.



2017 All-Big Ten Teams

Player of the Year: Katie Trombetta, MICH
Offensive Player of the Year: Moira Putsch, PSU
Defensive Player of the Year: Samantha Swenson, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Bodil Keus, MD
Coach of the Year: MARCIA PANKRATZ, MICH

First Team
Lein Holsboer, M, Sr., MD
Moira Putsch, F, Jr., PSU
Skyler Fretz, D, Sr., PSU
Katie Birch, D, So., IOWA
Linnea Gonzales, F, Jr., MD
Meg Dowthwaite, F, So., MICH
Simone Vagnoni, B, Sr., MSU
Puck Pentenga, M, Jr., NU 

Second Team
Maddy Humphrey, F, Sr., OSU
Daphne Groothuis, M, Fr., RU
Esther de Leijer, M, Sr., MICH
Katie Dembroski, M, Jr., PSU
Maddie Latino, F, Sr., IND
Carrie Hanks, D, Sr., MD
Maddy Murphy, F, Fr., IOWA
Linde Van Schaik, M, Jr., RU
Pascale Massey, F, Jr., NU
Kendal Anderson, M, Sr., MSU
Jenny Rizzo, GK, Jr., PSU

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Elle Hempt, IND
Mallory Lefkowitz, IOWA
Marissa Cutry, MD
Casie Ammerman, MICH
Katie Miller, MSU
Katie Esselman, NU
Kelsey Nolan, OSU
Shay Cannon, PSU
Simrin Dhillon, RU

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Partners & Sponsors