Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Liz Nagel, Trisha Witherby Win Women's Collegiate Team Championship

Liz Nagel and Trisha Witherby with their first-place trophies at the Pure Silk Women's Collegiate Team Championship.

July 26, 2013

Complete Leaderboard

POWELL, Ohio - Michigan State golfers Liz Nagel and Trisha Witherby won the fourth annual Pure Silk Women's Collegiate Team Championship on Thursday at the Wedgewood Golf & Country Club.

Nagel and Witherby captured the title by shooting a three-round total of 5-under-par 283, four shots ahead of Louisville's Emily Haas and Laura Restrepo.

Forty-two (42) two-person teams played in the tournament, which was presented by the Women's Golf Coaches Association and is the most unique summertime national women's amateur. Each team paired players from the same university in a 54-hole stroke play event. The format of the championship was alternate shot for the first round, best ball for the second round, and aggregate score of the two players in the third round. Teams are comprised of players from all levels of collegiate golf including Division I, II and III programs.

Nagel and Witherby led the event wire-to-wire after shooting a 1-under 71 during the alternate shot first round, a 5-under 67 during the best ball second round, and a 1-over 145 during the aggregate score third round. Witherby shot an even-par 72 on Thursday, which was second lowest among all players, while Nagel carded a 1-over 73, which tied for third lowest.

This marks the second time in the four-year history of the Women's Collegiate Team Championship that Michigan State's players have won the event, as Caroline Powers and Lindsey Solberg claimed the title in 2011.

Last year, Nagel and Witherby teamed up for a fifth-place finish.

Lindsey McPherson and Christine Meier also competed in the event for the third consecutive year. McPherson and Meier tied for 12th place with a 17-over 305. The duo compiled a 78 in the alternate shot round, a 72 in the best ball round, and a 155 in the final round.



Partners & Sponsors