Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Gymnastics Compete in Big Ten Championships

Sophomore Sarena Bumbarger earned the highest placement for MSU with a 9.800 on the beam.

March 24, 2012

Big Ten Championship Results Get Acrobat Reader

IOWA CITY, Iowa - The Michigan State gymnastics team traveled to Iowa City, Iowa to compete in the 2012 Big Ten Championships on Saturday (March 24). MSU participated in the afternoon session and earned a team score of 194.675.

The Spartans began the day on the vault, posting a total score of 48.800. Redshirt sophomore Taira Neal led the team with a 9.850 mark. Neal finished tied for eighth after the first session and tied for 15th overall. Sophomore Gillian Carr earned a career-best 9.750 in the event.

In the next rotation, Jackie Berg led the Spartans on the uneven bars with a 9.825 score. The senior ended up tied for fourth in the first session and tied for 11th overall. Senior Daneen Haba tabbed a 9.775 while freshman Alina Cartwright, sophomore Dani Levy and Neal each earned 9.700 scores. As a team, Michigan State finished with a 48.700 mark on the uneven bars.

On the balance beam, the Spartans earned a 48.375 team score. Sophomore Sarena Bumbarger was the top gymnast for MSU in the event with a 9.800 mark and Berg was next with a 9.725 score. Bumbarger earned the highest placement for MSU, tying with three others for second place in the first session and seventh overall.

In the final rotation, Levy scored a team-best 9.850 for the floor exercise. She was tied for second after the early session and eighth overall. With a 9.825 score, Berg was next on the Spartan scoresheet and freshman Ashley Noll tabbed a 9.750 mark for her floor routine. Michigan State concluded action at the Big Ten Championships with a 48.800 score in the floor exercise.

The Spartans now wait to see where they qualify for the NCAA Regionals on April 7. The 2012 regionals will be hosted by Auburn (Auburn, Ala.), Illinois (Champaign, Ill.), Arkansas (Fayetteville, Ark.), North Carolina State (Raleigh, N.C.), Utah (Salt Lake City, Utah.) and Washington (Seattle, Wash.).



Partners & Sponsors