Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Jamie Cheslik Named Second-Team All-Big Ten

Oct. 27, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Senior forward Jamie Cheslik was named Second Team All-Big Ten on Friday, Oct. 27 by the Big Ten Conference, as voted by the B1G coaches.

Cheslik, a native of Northville, Michigan, started in all 18 games for the Spartans and led the team in points with 16, improving on her 14 point finish last season. She netted six goals, half of which were game-winning, and notched four assists. Cheslik played 1,633 minutes on the field, a team-high. Cheslik also garnered All-Freshman team honors in 2014.

Cheslik was also named Michigan State’s Sportsmanship Award Honoree by the conference. The students chosen for the award are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The Spartans finished the season 6-11-1 overall, with a 2-8-1 record in Big Ten play.

Coach of the Year: LORI WALKER-HOCK, Ohio State
Forward of the Year: Maddy Williams, Sr., Purdue
Midfielder of the Year: Nikki Walts, Sr., Ohio State
Defender of the Year: Morgan Wolcott, Sr., Ohio State
Goalkeeper of the Year: Casey Murphy, Jr., Rutgers
Freshman of the Year: Amirah Ali, Rutgers

All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
F - Sydney Squires, Minnesota
F - Sammy Edwards, Ohio State
F - Maddy Williams, Purdue
M - Marisa Viggiano, Northwestern
M - Nikki Walts, Ohio State
M - Emily Ogle, Penn State
M - Victoria Pickett, Wisconsin
D - Sinclaire Miramontez, Nebraska
D - Kayla Sharples, Northwestern
D - Morgan Wolcott, Ohio State
GK - Casey Murphy, Rutgers

Second Team
F - Jamie Cheslik, Michigan State
F - Megan Schafer, Penn State
F - Dani Rhodes, Wisconsin
M - Sarah Stratigakis, Michigan
M - Molly Fiedler, Minnesota
M - Haley Hanson, Nebraska
D - Taylor Timko, Michigan
D - Tori Burnett, Minnesota
D - Kaleigh Riehl, Penn State
D - Chantelle Swaby, Rutgers
GK - Devon Kerr, Ohio State

Third Team*

F - Reilly Martin, Michigan
F - April Bockin, Minnesota
F - Meg Brandt, Nebraska
F - Amirah Ali, Rutgers
M - Natalie Winters, Iowa
M - Sarah Roberts, Ohio State
M - Charlotte Williams, Penn State
D - Hannah Davison, Northwestern
D - Izzy Rodriguez, Ohio State
D - Vanessa Korolas, Purdue
GK - Rachel Egyed, Maryland
GK - Sarah Jackson, Michgan
GK - Aubrei Corder, Nebraska

All-Freshman Team
F - Maddy Lowe, Ohio State
F - Frankie Tagliaferri, Penn State
F - Amirah Ali, Rutgers
F - Lauren Rice, Wisconsin
M - Sarah Stratigakis, Michigan
M - Regan Steigleder, Northwestern
M - Cameron Murtha, Wisconsin
D - Sarah Clark, Purdue
D - Sammy Kleedtke, Wisconsin
GK - Katie Luce, Purdue



Unanimous selections listed in ALL CAPS
* - additional honorees due to ties in voting

Partners & Sponsors